jump to navigation

Playstation 2 Slim vs Original Playstation 2 July 5, 2006

Posted by Tell it like it TI is! in Playstation, PS2, PS3.
trackback

My 11 year-old son and I are having a major debate regarding the differences in the Playstation2 Slim and the Playstation2! My son continues to tell me that there are several upgrades, and wants to purchase a PS2 slim! The only difference besides being slimmer) that I can come up with is that there is an ethernet connection for online gaming, which he is not really into. I have been to several websites and can’t find direct comparisons. Is this just a waste of money, or are there some real differences. What about the PS3?? Wouldn’t this be a better decision? Help!

Comments»

1. Fast Follower - July 5, 2006

Sounds like your son just wants a new Playstation. Let’s face it, when the PS3 arrives, he’ll want that as well.

Shueib - June 26, 2010

So true….-.-

2. Fast Follower - July 11, 2006

 When does the PS3 arrive anyway?

3. Tell it like it TI is! - July 11, 2006

I finally compromised with my son. I purchased a used unit off of ebay for half price. I must admit, as an old-school gamer myself, that the Playstation 2 Slim is a LOT smaller and easier to move around. It’s no bigger than a paperback book! Now he wants some type of screen that goes on the top of the thing and wireless controllers. During long car rides, I can see his point. Also, I have noticed that the game loading times are faster. Not sure why this is, though. You are probably right, he will probably want the PS3, as well. We have a PS1, PS2, PS2 Slim, PSP, Nintendo DS, in addition to my original Nintendo, Sega, and Nintendo 64. Like father, like son, I guess. I still remember the days when I used to spend hours with Fast Follower kicking his butt in Defender, and Asteroids. I was even the guy at school that played Pac Man until half the screen would disappear (999,999)! Now the all important question…. KNOW OF ANY GOOD DEALS ON THE GAMES!!???

Conrad - August 1, 2009

go to gogamers.com or on ebay at gogamerscom and you will find some really cool deals on games. the slimline does load faster and it has a better processor and a slightly better graphics card than the original. it doesn’t have a powerful fan like the original so I would suggest getting a mini fan that plugs into the usb port. the slimeline is quite a bit better the the original. the specs might not be that different but the slimline ps2 is made with new, re-designed parts. hope I helped.

4. Fast Follower - July 11, 2006

I’m not the gamer I used to be back in our college days, so I don’t know about good deals on games. I’ll ask my son, however. By the way…. I distinctly remember that I was the Defender and Asteroid champ back in college!

5. vinny - October 4, 2006

Just Dont Tell Your Son About The USB Extreme Program Which Lets You Store All Of Your Games On A External Hard Drive. You Save Big Bucks With It! No Wear & Tear. I Have It Its Worth It. I Only Buy The Best Games Such As Halo, Battlefield Series, And Red Faction Series. Thats What I Recommend. But Anyways About The USB Xtreme I Would Only Recomend It If You Have Over 20-25 Games Otherwise Its A Waste. Unless You Rent Games! Then You Could Just Play Them For Ever! How Cool Is That? At TigerDirect.com Look At The Hard Drive Section, Scroll own And You Will See Calvary 120GB HD $67.99 its worth it! Plus The USB Extreme Program Costs $25 or so! About $100 in total(totally worth it! you can store at least 100 ps2 games on there!!!!). E-mail Me For more info. vinogradovvitaliy@yahoo.com

6. Tell it like it TI is! - October 5, 2006

My Man Vinne! That’s what this site is all about. Useful information. You hear that Fast Follwer??? Stuff we can use. Vinnie I will look into this tonight with my son. I will email you if I have questions. Thanks.

7. gaurav - October 9, 2006

ps3’ll release on nov.16 in n. america

8. Andrew - October 10, 2006

lol ps3 is gonna suck! the real fight will be the nintendo wii vs. the x-box360! i however will get them both (no ps3) soo yeah

9. dsfgdg - November 1, 2006

idiots

its ps2 slim vs ps2 original, not ps3

10. Dragoon - December 29, 2006

I hear that ps2 slim overheats and alot of units have been defective, also would it realy be worth buying 1 if im just doing it to find a networok adaptor i get 50 bucks trade in for my original ps2 problem is even on ebay a network adaptor the cheepest iv seen with shiping is 55 bucks…so thats a 129,99 ps2 slim – 50 bucks for the old ps2 i trade in – 55 bucks form adaptor…so im only spending realy 30 bucks on it but im still wonering if its worth it just for that reason?

11. Tell it like it TI is! - January 1, 2007

Not sure if the PS2 overheats or not. To tell you the truth, it hasn’t even been plugged in since the new arrival of his XBOX 360. Probably all moot points at this time! He hasn’t even looked at the PS2 slim or fat! Looks like I can pull out all of my old games and get some old school play time in!

12. Fast Follower - January 1, 2007

Same situation over here as well….since the Xbox 360 arrived, PS2 is not on the play radar.

13. Ismael - January 23, 2007

MMMMMM, so nothing about the differences between ps2 slim and normal

14. Fast Follower - January 27, 2007

Good point Ismael. This started as a post about the differences between PS2 and PS2-Slim. I still don’t know the answer. Just like Ismael. What’s up with that TI?

15. Tell it like it TI is! - January 29, 2007

Not sure. The original post was me asking the question. The only difference that I can see is that it is smaller and easier for my son to take with him. It is about the size of a sprial notebook, so it works great on trips and it can be moved around much easier. Other than that, I don’t see the difference. I am so glad that I got a used eBay unit, instead of paying full retail!

16. sdferfr - January 29, 2007

the playstation slim is 5 meg hertz faster and has a built-in ethernet

17. Tell it like it TI is! - January 29, 2007

These three words when you’re gettin busy….WHOMP, THERE IT IS (don’t worry if you don’t understand… it’s from the old school!).

Ismael,
There’s your answer. Thanks to sdferfr.

18. sharlander - February 5, 2007

hey im thinking of trading my PS2 original for a slim one so i can play online do you think that right or its a waist of money. what money did you guys have to pay when you traded your original for slim????????

19. Tell it like it TI is! - February 6, 2007

Actually, I kept and still have the original. The bigger unit is now a permanent fixture in my family room entertainment make-up. The Slim moves from room to room to car to friend’s homes. My son hasnt done much with online PS2 play. I will consult with Tell It Like It Is Jr. and let you know.

20. boltonic - February 12, 2007

I think the slim supports multichannel audio while the old doesn’t

21. Tell it like it TI is! - February 13, 2007

I guess my son wasn’t just scamming me….there seem to be some real differences between the two. I owe him an apology!

22. Galvatorn_ - February 20, 2007

To get multichannel on the fat ps2 you have to use the optical audio which I believe is the same for the the slim. From what I can tell the speed increase and the ethernet port are the only two changes. I do think/feel that when the slim is working the ethernet port works better/more reliable/faster than the one you can get for the fat ps2. The only thing though that you can really quantify is the speed up from the processor. On some games you can time the load times and see the differences. I also think that the slim has upgraded software which helps process some load/game processes faster.

23. SleepyWilloe - March 15, 2007

Sweet. Now I Know the difference. Thanks!

24. Old PS2 Vs. Slim PS2 - Error - March 21, 2007

[…] – Cheat Code Central: Message Boards tom18230: …it was much quiter. The old ones were so loud… Playstation 2 Slim vs Original Playstation 2 Pardon the Interaction Pardon the Interaction » Playstation 2 Slim vs Original Playstation 2 Tell it like it TI is!: […]

25. Tell it like it TI is! - March 21, 2007

I have noticed the sound level too. This is a major difference.

26. Jack - April 13, 2007

I would personally go for the PS3 regarding the price. It’s got internet, music, movies, photos and amazingly good graphics.
If you think that it is too much money (which I’m not denying, it’s insanely expensive) than I would go for the PS2 slim.

27. Tell it like it TI is! - April 13, 2007

Jack,
Havn’t heard much about the PS3 since some initial problems were discovered and the somewhat botched launched late last year. Has PS3 solved all of the problems?

28. Fast Follower - April 15, 2007

Jack,
PS3 IS way too much money. I like your term: “insanely expensive.”

29. Sadalira - June 28, 2007

hey, tell it like it is, can i have your son’s old ps2? i think my family would use it 🙂

30. Tell it like it TI is! - July 2, 2007

Actually, we are now getting a lot of use out of it. We have it hooked up permanently to our main television and the slim moves around from room to room. This way we are not always moving and unplugging units from our main entertainment center. It is actually working out great. Sorry.

Take care and remember to always Tell It Like It Is.

31. So as a conclusion - December 17, 2007

so…

PS2 original vs. PS2 Slim
loud – quiet
bulky – small
slow – slightly less slow
no usb – 2 usb
no network – network
black – black/pink/blue/etc

32. Tell it like it TI is! - December 17, 2007

Yeah, that pretty much sums it up. I was looking at the post and it has been around for a while. My son was actually 11 when I wrote it..he is now 13! He is still getting plenty of use out of it. Now it hasn’t been quite two years, though. He was a few months away from his 12th birthday when I wrote it.

Any other comments from any PTIers???

33. Fast Follower - December 19, 2007

With the price reduction, what about the PS3?

34. xXanonymousXx - December 19, 2007

this is one VERY old post, so why keep talkin about it?…especially if its about the ps2, mostly evry one now are tryin to get a ps3 which has alot more features so wuts the point of gettin a ps2?…yea i kno the ps3 is more xpensive but u get alot from it…so i suggest start savin ur $$$ asap

35. XtremeGamer - December 21, 2007

the PS3 is a bust a total rip off it graphics are crap the Xbox 360 uses MAX of 32MB of it ram for the system where as the PS3 uses over half its ram (over 300MB) for the system and OS and everything the PS3 has a nVIDIA GPU the Xbox 360 has ATI, the LEADER in gaming graphics where is the GameCube and Wii also have ATI the origional Xbox had nVIDIA also it sucks too i prefer the GameCube myself it has the BEST graphics of its generation ive played the Wii graphics (Although ATI) are really weak on the Wii its dull and blunt like the ps3 where as the Xbox 360 and GameCube are crystal clear and sharp The Legend of Zelda: Twilight princess is way better (graphics wise) on the GameCube then it iss on the Wii my advise is got with the cube and the 360 and take a sledge hammer to the PS2, PS3, and origional Xbox (that cant even play burned discs)

36. Fast Follower - December 21, 2007

XtremeGamer, why don’t you tell us what you really think 🙂 I like your passion and knowledge, however. That’s a good educational, PTI post.

Did you hear that, PTIers: “Get the GameCube and take a sledge hammer to the PS2, PS3, and original Xbox.”

37. XtremeGamer - December 21, 2007

Fast Follower me saying “take a sledge hammer to the PS2, PS3, and original Xbox.” was a figure of speech meaning that compared to the GameCube and Xbox 360 they are useless

38. xXanonymousXx - December 22, 2007

hahaha, wow! ur sayin that a gamecube is better than a ps3, now thats a good one…im sure any one would choose a ps3 over the gamecube…its even funnier B-kuz it seems like ur just basing it off of graphics…if you really believe that G.C. graphics are better than ps3 graphics then u must really be sum kind of moron

39. CD - December 27, 2007

Way back in the messages you guys were talking about buying the hard drive and the usb extreme software. I am still playing the ps2 and was wondering where you buy the software and also will any usb external hard drive work?

40. CD - December 27, 2007

Also forgot to ask when you do hook up the external drive, do you still have to use the little memory cards or can you store your information on the hard drive. The cards are expensive when you keep having to buy them. Thanks a lot

41. Steamy McQueen - February 2, 2008

Loved this whole post. Hardly answers the original question. Great to read pre and post PS3 post. Turned out to be the worst system ever made. Happy to hear your PS2 is still in action. XBox 360 rocks.

42. Tell it like it TI is! - February 2, 2008

Yeah, Steamy, this post took a little bit of a different, yet interesting turn. I started this when my son was trying to convince me that there were REAL differences (other than slimness and size). I think PTIers helped me to help my son with his decision, cause he finally got the slim.

Glad you like the post. Keep commenting.

Just telling it like it is.

43. Fast Follower - February 5, 2008

You mean you finally got the slim for him, don’t you?

44. Tell it like it TI is! - February 5, 2008

Nope. He used his own cash, but only after I was convinced that there was a REAL difference. He actually got a system off of eBay for about 60% of the retail price.

Just tellin it like it is.

45. xXanonymousXx - February 6, 2008

so he FINALLY got the slim? didn’t the slim come out like 5years ago?…i woulda gone with a ps3, yea its xpensive but o well…

46. Tell it like it TI is! - February 6, 2008

Noooo…he actually got the slim PS2 back in 2006. That’s how long this post has been up. We haven’t removed it, because we continue to get quite a few views and comments.

Still am not sold on the PS3… primarily based on word of mouth and the lack of consumer hype.

We’ll see.

47. xXanonymousXx - February 7, 2008

i really dont care wut ppl say about the ps3, i’ll still get one mainly for the blu-ray player but thers also a few games that i want for it, plus it has compatibility with psp

48. Tell it like it TI is! - February 9, 2008

xXa,
Let us know what your experience is. I was just saying that I find it odd that there is really not a lot of raving about the system. I remember the big Xmas hype in 2006, I remember that there were some initial complaints, but I really haven’t heard a lot about it. I find that really odd.

Let us know. I am always willing to listen to a non-biased assessment.

Just telling it like it is….

49. Fast Follower - February 10, 2008

What’s the PSP compatibility with PS3?

50. Old school gamer - February 17, 2008

I’m askin around, this might be off topic but I need help.
Ps1 had album art but for some reason I can’t figure it out on my ps2 (fat) can any 1 help me or is album art not avaliable on ps2?

51. Tell it like it TI is! - March 17, 2008

Why are you bidding on a slim?? What are you going to do with it? Why in 2008 would you be doing that? I did this over a year ago…you are not even living up to your Fast Follower nickname!!!

Just telling it like it is.

52. PS2 slim - March 22, 2008

I brought a PS2 few days ago and I was wondering how to connect it to the internet using a laptop with wireless connection. Thanks!

Shueib - June 26, 2010

get an ethernet cable to connect it between ur laptop and ps2….then enable the ICS (Internet Connection Sharing) from the wireless adapter to the ethernet adapter in the laptop and the wireless adapter in the laptop should allow to share the connection with the ethernet adapter.

Wireless Adapter (receives the connection and shares it)—> Ethernet Adapter (the wireless internet is now flowing thru the ethernet and should send the signals to PS2)—>Playstation Ethernet (Playstation should’ve received the internet connection and now is ready to b played online)

53. Tell it like it TI is! - March 23, 2008

My son suggests going to this website.

http://www.i-hacked.com/content/view/118/62/

He says he was able to get it working. Good luck. I don’t know much about this, but give it a try.

Just telling it like it is……

54. Dr. Pizza - April 13, 2008

So a Conclusion, the OLD PS2 has 2 USB ports in the front as well.

55. krystina - April 19, 2008

Okay well i have the fat PS2, i just got rock band and was gonna play. i put it in and let it load but it said disk error if i got the PS2 slim do you think it would work in it?

56. Monster - April 20, 2008

I’m glad you left this post up. I just RETURNED my PS3. It was one of the last 80gb versions in town (the 120GB versions coming in june are rumored to not be compatible with ps2 games just like the 40GB). I was indeed wondering this same question, as I’m looking at getting a PS2 now.

Why you ask? Well, first of all, I have an older (though decently large) TV. The PS3 games did NOT look good. I THINK for the PS3 to be worth it, you need a nice and big new HD TV. The other reason is that most of the games I wanted to play were in fact on PS2. The releases that I wish to play for PS3 are very few and far between. Why should I dish out that much money for a system that doesn’t look hot on my ol’ TV, and has limited game selection?

Shueib - June 26, 2010

The graphics look back because the old TVs (SDTV) have 480p (640×480) VGA Resolution and thats the resolution for PS2. HD ready TVs have the resolution of 720p (1280×720 and 1366×786) and the full HDs have 1080p resolution (1920×1080) which is meant for PS3. So if you try to play ps3 games on on VGA/SDTVs the graphics are being reduced to ps2 quality which is DAMN annoying…..but there are still few advantages…you can still use the ps3’s new functions and everything that is in it….its just the graphics which get lowered….and you wouldnt want to pay so much money on simple graphics when u could get ps2 which decent grapchics. By the way NEVER connect the ps2 on a HD TV as the resolution of PS2 is 480p and the HD tv is 720p or 1080p so it has to strecth it and the graphics become shit. So if you have a HDTV and want a decent graphics game console I’d buy PS3 for it 🙂

57. Monster - April 20, 2008

Oh and I almost forgot. While I was playing “Ratchet & Clank Future Tools of Destruction” the PS3 crashed with a nice assembler code error. The controller was then locked out, and I had to do a hard reboot of the system. That was only after approximately 12-15 hours of playtime on the unit.

58. Tell it like it TI is! - April 21, 2008

I’m with you Monster…one of the most reliable, enjoyable gaming experiences has been with the PS2. You can’t always improve by changing the last number!!!

Just telling it like it is!!!

59. xXanonymousXx - May 9, 2008

blaH blaH wutever. . . .

60. Big D - May 24, 2008

Hey Big D here I believe from What ive seen with ps2 and ps3 problems is that the ps3 isnt backwards compatible cause ive got tons of psx and ps2 games i still play to this day could anyone tell me which year and version is most backward compatible of the ps3?
cause my ps2 slim is completly crappin out and i dont think i can fix it.
(and the 360 does rock)

61. ZeroGamer - July 4, 2008

Wow, there is a lot of misinformation in here… Some of you are either misinformed or simply in denial — I can’t tell. :o)

XtremeGamer, the PS3’s graphics are anything but “dull and blunt.” I play my games on my 37″ 1080p LCD monitor as well as our 50″ 1080p plasma TV, and XBOX 360 / PS3 graphics are amazing on them. I do not recommend basing opinions off of playing these consoles on a standard definition set, but even then the graphics should appear much better than Gamecube or even Wii.

It is true that a lot of games released for both consoles run better on the 360 than on the PS3, but that is changing as the developers learn how to program for the PS3. Recent games such as Grand Theft Auto IV, Burnout: Paradise, etc. are doing much better in this regard. And let’s not forget the PS3 exclusives like Metal Gear Solid 4, Gran Turismo 5, Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune, etc.

I’m not a PS3 fanboy, but I recently purchased the 60GB version and it has proven to be a fantastic console so far. It runs cooler and quieter than my XBOX 360. I love the X360 but they run hot, loud, and the amount of them that have failed due to the “Red Ring of Death” is absurd. I know a lot of people with the XBOX 360, and nearly ALL of them have experienced this failure. Some research on the internet will verify that this is a very widespread problem, although newer models are better in this regard and run cooler due to CPU/motherboard revisions.

To comment on the PS2 issue, I bought a launch console the night of the release and it was a great console for some time, although I eventually experienced the laser problem that affected a number of those units (disc read errors). I bought a lightly used PS2 slim that my son has been using for a couple of years without a problem. It has seen a LOT of playtime, still functions normally, and doesn’t seem to run as hot as people are saying. Perhaps other revisions of the slim fared worse in that regard?

Big D, the 40GB PS3 is not backwards compatible with PS2 games (but it is BC with PS1/PSX games). The 80GB PS3 does have backwards compatibility with PS2 games via software emulation, but it isn’t as good as hardware emulation and certain titles have issues. The original 20GB and 60GB PS3 models are becoming more sought after since they are fully backwards compatible with PS1 and PS2 titles; they actually contained the hardware from the PS2 and therefore can play virtually all of the titles without glitches or other abnormalities.

You can check this page to see which PS2 titles have issues with the 80GB model:

http://www.us.playstation.com/Support/CompatibleStatus

62. Paul - October 2, 2008

Hi Thank you so much for this you have answer many of my questions. I would like to know if there is any difference on the laser to read the disc between the ps2 or ps2 slim????
I know is almost 2009 but I don’t want to buy a ps3 yet, and I can get one or the other for about 50 bucks.
thanks

63. R.O.B. - October 28, 2008

Hey, I’m a bit of an old-school gamer and I have all the original Nintendo consoles, and an Atari 2600, so I was looking at buying a PS2 mainly for Tekken and Metal Gear Solid (I have the Twin Snakes the Gamecube version, and really enjoyed it).

My first thought was get the original console, because although bigger, it’s original and fits the rest of my collection, but then I thought because I’m buying it used, wouldn’t the Slim be more reliable because it is guaranteed to be newer? Also, I don’t have any other Playstations so it wouldn’t really be part of the collection. I am not worried about the price, I am getting one from gamestop.com used and there is only a $10 difference.

What would you guys suggest? Buying new isn’t an option, neither is buying a PS3

cheers

64. jose duron - December 22, 2008

ps2 slim get a little hot. sometimes to much.

65. LoGaN mAn - December 22, 2008

I Bought an old ps2 about 8 months ago and I have already gotten the disk read error problem. I am having to buy a ps2 slim just because I can’t afford a next gen system.

66. xXanonymousXx - January 23, 2009

ps2 sux…i have a 60gb ps3 n plays ps1 and ps2 games but i dont have any.. but thats where my psp comes in handy.. now dat its hacked i can play ps1 games(usualy play marvel v. capcom, marvel v. strt. fighter, MGS, R.E.2 ) as well as nes, snes, sega, atari, gb/gba, n64..and a psp gameplay is pretty close to a ps2..so yea, ps2 sux

67. DenyingHook - February 14, 2009

ok, i would like to say that there is solutions in repairing your systems but this will void your warranty on your ps2 console. to fix the dise read error, i took apart the system(its very simple) and what a did is basically took a piece of very soft tissue paper and rubbing alcohol and wipped the lens very softly to make sure it doesnt get damaged, i put it back together and so far its working and trust me, it works, i still have the ps2, i had it since the month after its release.

68. The Busy One - February 16, 2009

Dudes,
Hold u’r horses. I’ved just end this entire forum and… my suggestion and my respect remains to tha ppl who appreciate PS2 slim. I’ved tryed all consoles possible at every of my friends and i realised that the PS2 slim it’s better than any console who is newer on tha CONSOLE MARKET.
The thing is that tha PS2 has less technical problems, wich satisfies a client more then a realistic graphic or a better sound qality or else…
I mean… what id you’ll se the most beatifull graphic on u’r TV, but in a few hours it will shut down, gamepad blocked instantlly, game crackin just when you’re “tasting” it or else… so No. 1 for me is a PS2 slim.

I’m playing on a no prob. console for a long time ago so you can call me The Busy One.

69. Man with out Aids - April 10, 2009

I got all the way the the end of this and found out it is between a 47″ 1080p HD TV for my XBOX 360 or a PS3 160 GB to go with my XBOX 360 on my small 37″ 1080p HDTV

70. Daniel Fiddes - May 11, 2009

i have a ps2 slim and it works fine it does not over heat at all!!!! my favorite game is eyetoy and gta series

71. Eroge King - May 24, 2009

Took a long time to read this entire post, geeze. I feel like I’ve just experienced 3 years of gaming talk within an hour. In my opinion the PS2 is the best console to own mainly because I’ve had it for 7 years and not once have I had a problem with it. Another reason is because I can think of over 70 games that I enjoy on the PS2, where Xbox and PS3 I can only name under 15. With PS2 games being only about $15 each, that’s another reason for me to continue playing it rather than dump my money away on a newer console. My girlfriend did buy a Wii though xD

It is kind of painful to think about all the PS2 and Gamecube games that I’ve spent $50 each on back then when they’re so damn cheap now. I’ve been buying lots of say 20 games for $40.

having fun with Champions of Norrath right now 😀

72. Chris - July 20, 2009

Wow, nice long post. I was just googling about the PS2 Slim and found this post, and it was very helpful. I’m gonig to buy a PS2 Slim tomorrow for $99.99 at Wal-Mart brand new. Only thing is that a lot of online games for the PS2 are being terminated, as in they will no longer be able to be played online because Sony or whoever pays for the servers isn’t gonig to continue with there games online functions. I can’t believe how long this post has been going on, lets keep it going forever!!!! We haven’t heard from the creator of the post in a while!!! What happened to him!!!

Yay PS2 Slim!!! Yay Xbox360! Yay PS3??? Yay Wii!(I have one and the graphics SUCK!!!)

73. Another human - August 3, 2009

The third of August 2009 – still – PS2 rules over ps3 and the new consoles!

There are over 6 000 games for ps2 and more than 500 are incredibly good…
The price of the newer consoles compared to the ps2’s … it’s like a fly next to an elephant…
Not much people have new TV’s with Full/Ready HD…And surprisingly i found that a lot of new TV’s with these extras doesn’t have HDMI outs which is pathethic but true….

Of that we can consider PS2 as the leader and maybe a few years later the new generation will take place…

74. Yahia - August 12, 2009

Thanks a lot guys. All this stuff is very instructive.
You can’t imagine how much years it’s been since I lost contact with the gaming world…
I think I’ll go for a PS2 Slim myself, yes, in august 2009, mainly because I would never think of getting a HD/whatever TV, plus I have a goddam laptop so I don’t need a stupid hard drive on the PS3 nor wifi cause it’s not like I’m gonna move the machine around in hot spots and try to connect to the internet; having to recharge the controller is another hassle I won’t worry about in PS2, and man, I have a damn laptop so why add another system like it that also allows playing with videos, photos and music? That’s so consumerist. The PSP-compat part too.

75. timerac3r - August 13, 2009

Hi guys,
Great discussion,but i wanna ask something.I’m hesistant about buying a computer or buyng a PS2 with chip.Which will be better?Help me please!
Thank you!
P.S.I am BG so excuse my writing if i made a mistake!

76. Strykie - August 26, 2009

PS3 Slim is here.
I think it was a little lazy and greedy not to include Backwards compatibility, considering the new consoles will make profit for Sony now. Why would they risk bringing more distrust upon them by trying to convince people to buy a PS2 instead?

Nevertheless, Bye bye Xbox 360. Killing off the Pro pack and putting Elite down by a 100 bucks will just turn the tables and make MICROSOFT look like the desperate strugglers.

77. kent p. - August 29, 2009

wow this old

78. Tell it like it TI is! - August 29, 2009

my son wants to get the new ps3 slim. is it worth it?

79. Tell it like it TI is! - August 29, 2009

ooooo i forgot… Just telling it like it is!!!

80. iban - September 3, 2009

i got my ps2 when it first came out (fat one) and till this day it still going

and i also had the xbox it just didnt want to play the games any more after 1year

what im trying to say is that PlayStations are better then the xboxs

and i just got my ps3 slim pretty nice

81. airnite - November 9, 2009

the ps3 is the best system ever i live eat and breath it,the online is crazy,i love it,you get to meet so many ppl all over the country and link up and play you cant beat that,i say get the ps3, the online you can go head to head with ppl and and get your name on leader boards an everything,its the best.

82. Ffrench2k9 - November 20, 2009

that above is so true,the ps3 console is the best video game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

83. OneAndOnly7456 - November 24, 2009

It’s a matter of opinion. Some pple enjoy xbox better than ps, or via versa. Honestly, i believe that xbox is the better console. It has a wide variety of games, also including that there are more titles exclusively for the console. (Halo, Gears of war, Mass Effect, Crackdown, and so on.)

I’m glad that this thread remained opened. I’m planning to purchase a playstation 2 this week and was wondering which console was the better buy. It turns out that i will be buying a ps2 slim will be the one i’m going to stick to.

84. dsi r4 - November 27, 2009

Hi,
The playstation games will keep the kids entertained for most part of the journey. If you do not access to any of the devices, you can play these playstation games online as well. There are numerous Websites that allow you to play the playstation games for free. However, there are some Websites that also charge some nominal charges for allowing you play the playstation games on their Website. If you are interested in buying any of the playstation games, it is a good method is to try the games on rent prior to buying the playstation games.

85. laal - February 18, 2010

every game system sucks you just spent your money at buying the system, games and once you get one system then another comes out and then they stop making games for that system you bought1!!!!11111

jhuyijj - February 18, 2010

you are so right!!

86. laal - February 18, 2010

every game system sucks you just spent your money at buying the system, games and once you get one system then another comes out and then they stop making games for that system you bought1!!!!11111
jkljhuhuhbjhygjbhjlhb

87. bjsmom - May 1, 2010

My PS2 orignal just broke after 11 yrs. Never had any issues with it. Thinking about purchasing a refurbished PS2 Slim for my 6 yr old. What are your thoughs. PS2 (Fat) PS2 (Slim) ? Thanks!

Shueib - June 26, 2010

same happnd to me….i used to LOVE my old ps2 and i broke recently….i didnt want to throw it away so i just have it on my shelves to remind me of my old days and the fun i had with it….i wanted to fix it but the disk is fukdd because my cousins slammed the CD in and it broke the laser diamond which cant be fixed easily….so i decided to buy ps2 slim so i gotta say those two are so not different. The difference is the online gaming and i wouldnt buy the ps2 slim bcoz of the online as sony is goin to cancel it out anywayz. The original one has HDD ( hard drive) support and you can hack it and install LOADS of stuff and programs in it. So i would suggest a PS2 Fat….never buy ps2 slim bcoz you want the online gaming

88. Juozas - June 26, 2010

I had both and the PS2 and the PS2 Slim,

Okay the PS2 Lasted me nearly 4 years, but then my “lazer” broke.!
Now i have the PS2 Slim it’s MUCH better!

1. Loads a lot faster
2. Very small console
3. It’s not that loud
4. And the “lazer” is much much better!

But I have a PS3 60GB ,
So I don’t even play games on my PS2,
Just GTA 4 on my LOVE ( PS3 🙂 )

89. notebook parca - June 30, 2010

best one is xbox

90. Core-breach - September 5, 2010

Sep 4, 2010
Thanks for keeping this available this long. I have over 150 PC games. Only had a nintendo 2 console (circa 1988)and was looking to buy a newer console. I originally decided to buy a PS3. Then I found that their were “slim” and fat version, and slim wasn’t backward compatible (in fact, only the 60Gb PS3, CECHA01, was backwards compatible with older playstation games) and that “other OS” is no longer an option the ‘slim’ PS3. Browsing Ebay (the only place these 60Gb “GEMS” are still available), I have encountered numerous units with flaws in them, the most significant is a missing or damaged ‘warrany tag’. Without an intact warranty tag, Sony won’t touch it (even if it is out-of-warranty and you want to pay for repair service). Do I relly want/need the feature the 60Gb units offer?? What if I buy a PS2 and a newer, “slim,” PS3 and play their games on them separately. But hold on…the PS2 has a fat and “slim” version too. This two horse rodeo is beginning to be a lot of trouble to figure out. Let’s don’t mention that PS2 ‘Slim’ comes in 70000 and 90000 series too. Really, I just wanted to have some fun with as few problems as possible. The 70000 uses an external ‘brick’ power supply while the 90000 has an internal power supply. While I not fond of hardward dangling out every-where, apparently the external brick is better. So, all this hubris, I think right now, I’ll get a PS2 ‘Slim’ instead of a PS3 and forget about all the features I’ll lose by buying an over-priced, USED, system whose pedigree is suspect. Thanks again for keeping this posting alive. It did help me make a sound decision.

91. Zayed - September 8, 2010

I want to buy ps2
But i don’t know which one to but theoriginal or the ps2 slim.
I am getting confused because some of u say the slim over heats and not so loud and the original is fat its hard to carry around and in other websites it is written the laser burns down after 1 or 2 years.
So anyone pls reply quick in 2 days and tell me which one should I buy

92. Sol Curry - October 21, 2010

My son is a pc game buff mainly for car racing.
He wants a ps2 now. does ps2 have enough car racing games available? also, let me know if i should order a ps2 slim or a ps3 instead of ps2.
thanks.
Sol

93. Sol Curry - October 21, 2010

I need to know if ps2/ps2 slim / ps3 ordered on ebay will work in india? how about the japanese imported versions? will they work in india?

94. Anas Ghazanfar - November 12, 2010

how can we play ps3 games on ps2 slim and I wont take no for an answer.

95. Jibran - December 19, 2010

we cant play ps3 games ps2,there is no way for doing that.and every body listen to me i have a ps3 60gb ntsc model which is the best playstation console ever made,it can play ps1,ps2 and ps3 games so everybody search for ps3 60gb model on ebay or something and buy it do NOT buy a ps2 now.please do what i say it will benefit you!

96. Jibran - December 19, 2010

and one more thing i live in united arab emirates 🙂

97. Stuart Gierach - January 9, 2011

Greetings and Salutations!!!
I am planning on purchasing another PS2 Console in a couple of weeks. I used to won a PS2 (original/Fat) Model…but sold it s I could eat while I was homeless. Now I cannot decide whether to get the Brand New PS2-SLIM model from Walmart, or find another PS2-Fat on E-Bay?? I have done research on-line and a website said that the VERSION-7 of PS2 (FAT) was the very best Model of PS2 made…chiefly because of the LASER in that particular model.
Someone please e-mail me at stew01@hotmail.com write Favre-4-ever in the Subject Line/Heading so I will know that it is from someone who read this posting. Thanks, Stu

98. seeteamandrez - April 16, 2011

I collect videogame systems, so I have both models of the Ps2 (fat and slim). I do not have the newest version of the Ps2 slim, but the older one when it first came out.
I bet that you already either bought the slim model or the Ps3 for your son. But if you didnt get the slim its BETTER. My collection: 4 Playstations (different models made in Japan, Mexico, and China), 2 PsOne’s, 1 Ps2(fat), 1 Ps2(slim), PSP 1000, PSP 3000, 3 Gameboy Colors, 1 Gameboy Advance, 2 Gameboy Advance SP’s(model 1 and 2), Nintendo Gamecube, 2 Nintendo DS Light’s, 1 Sega Genesis, and 1 Sega Dreamcast. I’m also going to buy myself a Ps3 fat soon to. (the fat Ps3 runs better than the slim and its shiny too! lol)

99. Hardmode88 - July 13, 2011

I am long time gamer and really a fan of Playstation series from PS1 to ps2 to psp and now planning to buy a PS3. I suggest that as much as possible, you choose rightly the games you want to play. What I am saying is that, most probably, where you can enjoy the fun easily. Games like platformers or third person shooters will do and don’t forget NOT to buy those games that you think it will not satisfy your satisfaction. Games that are not really marketable is just a waste of money. Once you’ve played it, don’t expect you’ll play it until next week or maybe 3 days after. Sounds like you’re not enjoying the game. Now, if you really want to play games that will make you nocturnal and getting those eyebugs playing the whole night (well if you’re working in daytime), probably you buy those Playstation Hits, yes those games that are highly recommended like from Konami, Square Soft, Namco, SNK and the unavoidable company, Capcom. Choose a fighter like Tekken or Street Fighter, rpg like Suikoden, racer like Gran Turismo or even the colourful yet almost simple world of puzzle of Katamari Damacy will make your butt toast playing it for hours. You can also visit Gamespot.com for the latest games or try visiting thefightersgeneration.com if you’re into some sort of Ryu’s Hadouken or performing irresistible juggles like Jin does.

100. Jibran - July 16, 2011

BUY A PS3 NOW GUYZZ
AND YEAH THIS IS THE 100TH POST!

101. Big BOY - November 29, 2011

No differences between the PlayStation 2 and slim. The only difference is that the slim more heated.

luis - December 20, 2011

i have a ps3 its at 1 that u find it fun and it is but when a long time pass is by i miss my p2 games<3

102. xbox code generator password - June 4, 2013

Upon the release of the PlayStation Network (PSN) Generator,
the whole game playing experience in the playstation
network changed. Much like to Xbox Live, playstation network has an internet marketplace where
you can purchase various stuff like video games,
maps, cheats and many more. For one to get points,
it’s advised that you get a $20 redeem card in the official internet site. And it would cost you a lot more bucks for the upgrades that you might want. It’s pricey, isn’t it? Not everyone that plays Playstation can afford to buy cards. This shouldn’t suppress you. The fact is, you may acquire totally free PSN cards in several ways.

Employing a PSN Code Generator is the fastest and easiest method that people used for many years now to get free PSN cards. This minimizes the necessity to acquire costly cards now. You only need to have the generator, have it make codes and redeem them to the official internet site. Think of the huge savings that making use of the PSN Code Generator can offer you. You also need to invest a little for monthly fees to savor the add-on features of the network similar to Xbox. If you like much more, then you have to invest more.

Whether you’re a casual or serious game player, go over
and then try the PSN Code Generator. Get the possibility of being the first
to obtain this program, and wait for the release of the latest generator version.

As promised, we will be releasing our edition of the PSN Code Generator.
Expect to see the newest and most upgraded version ever.
As of today, this is the fastest and easiest way
to get free PSN codes. All errors and bugs were
set to make sure the program works perfectly. The
developed codes are thoroughly examined in databases which make it entirely
efficient. One amazing feature is that it creates
several codes in just a single click of a button.

103. psn codes generator 2013 100% working - August 2, 2013

I always used to study post in news papers but now as I am a user of web thus from now I am
using net for posts, thanks to web.

104. sessel mit aufstehhilfe 2 motoren - August 4, 2013

Thank you for some other informative web site.
Where else could I get that kind of information written in
such a perfect way? I’ve a challenge that I’m simply now running
on, and I’ve been on the look out for such info.

105. Free psn codes no survey - August 5, 2013

Hey! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to
me. Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back
often!

106. where to buy garcinia - August 5, 2013

Have you ever thought about including a little bit
more than just your articles? I mean, what you say
is valuable and all. Nevertheless just imagine if you added some
great visuals or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”!
Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this blog could definitely be one of the
very best in its niche. Good blog!

107. Gran Turismo 6 Money Hack - January 27, 2014

Hi my friend! I want to say that this post is awesome,
nice written and come with almost all vital infos.
I would like to look extra posts like this .

108. Sana Pilat - November 10, 2016

I would also like to say that most of those who find themselves without the need of health insurance usually are students, self-employed and those that are jobless. More than half from the uninsured are under the age of 35. They do not experience they are in need of health insurance since they’re young in addition to healthy. Their own income is generally spent on houses, food, and also entertainment. Many people that do work either full or part-time are not provided insurance by means of their jobs so they get along without due to the rising expense of health insurance in america. Thanks for the tips you talk about through this site.


Leave a Reply

