jump to navigation

Sports camera equipment July 15, 2006

Posted by Fast Follower in Uncategorized.
trackback

TI –

Did I ever tell you that I got a chance last year to photograph the action on the field during a pro football game. It was a halloween game between the Lions and Bears at Ford Field in Detroit. I thought my camera equipment was cool. However, when you stand next to the pros and see their equipment and how they use it, you realize you’re really not in the same league (kind of like how you feel next to me with the Treo 650 you’re still hanging on to). Check out some of the professional tools below.

You see all of those white lenses? Well those are Canon lenses. Like Taylor-pics mentioned in a previous comment, Canon seems to be the equipment of choice for the pro sports photographer. Of course, I’m a Nikon guy. Nikon makes great equipment. But I kind of feel like I’m wearing New Balance shoes to play basketball when everyone else is wearing Nike and Reebok.

You can see my complete Lions versus Bears portfolio here.

Comments»

1. Joe Petorella - August 7, 2006

Oh to have a lottery like budget.
I agree the pros have some nice equipment, can you afford that stuff?
I have seen some pretty good shots over the years, and I agree to a point top of the line gear is helpful to say the least, however I believe a good photo captures what it feels like to actually be there if you stared @ it long enough. The Equipment selection will enable the photograher to capture what he/she wants viewers to share.
I want reaction from my work, did that guy survive that hit, was he safe, out? Capturing the ball in flight, I want my viewers to stare @ my photos wondering what they could have done if they were in that situation, because the action I captured makes them feel that they are that close, asking themselves how can a human do that?
If I could afford it I would have it. But I have to rely on skills and the equipment I have. To me its the ability. I have no choice!, or money either.

2. Fast Follower - August 7, 2006

I don’t have the money either, Joe (at least not for the equipment in these photos). I take a lot of soccer pix because my kids play. I use a Nikon D70 with a 70-200 f2.8 VR lens with a 1.7x extender for the soccer shots. Check out these soccer shots taken with the above equipment: Picture 1, Picture 2, Picture 3.

3. Fast Follower - November 27, 2006

As an update to this original post, I recently purchased a Nikon D200. It is way better than the D70 for taking sports photos from an autofocus capability perspective. It’s also almost twice the price of the new Nikon D80 as well. You get what you pay for.


Leave a Reply

