jump to navigation

Help me Understand…Why haven’t Tablet PCs caught on? July 31, 2006

Posted by Tell it like it TI is! in Uncategorized.
trackback

As Fast Follower will tell you, I take pride in my ability to predict.. “The next big thing”. PDAs, TIVO, AOL (I was one of the first users), Smartphones, etc. I have to admit, though, I am baffled as to why Tablet PCs aren’t catching on like wild fire! Is it the price? Design? What am I missing? Tablet PCs seemed to be the “ultimate”. Especially when you can rotate the screen into a traditional laptop configuration. When I am ready for a new computer, I am seriously going to consider a tablet. My daughter’s entire school is requiring tablet pcs to take notes, read text books, take tests, etc.

I just don’t understand it. On the plane, driving in the car, sitting on the sofa, sitting in meetings… it just seems that it would be great to just sit there with an electronic pad of paper and an electronic pen. Can anyone give me and idea, why these things aren’t as popular as IPODs? I would have thought by now that I would see them all over the place replacing the traditional laptops, but I don’t.

Let me hear from someone. I just don’t get it! Here’s the link to an old CNET article that said they were catching on. Here we are now in 2006, and they still haven’t hit the mark.

Comments»

1. chriSchaeffer - August 1, 2006

I think the Tablet PC is an awesome idea, too. My friend wants to buy one for work for the convenience of having an electronic pad for all the meetings he goes to… but the kicker is the PRICE.

But, one could argue that Macs are extremely high priced and more and more people are choosing Macs over PCs and if that is true then maybe that argument is saying that Tablet PC’s are not quality items therefore the high price can’t be justified.

2. Tell it like it TI is! - August 1, 2006

I guess I don’t understand the high price either. Most tablets look like laptops with some type of a swivel screen and an electronic pen. Are the software differences that significant? Is it the swivel screen that raises the price? How much could the electronic pen cost? I am just totally baffled as to why tablets are priced so high, and haven’t caught on like wildfire! Unless I hear a real problem, I might go ahead and take the tablet plunge. Hopefully, someone will chime in with the answer.

3. Fast Follower - August 1, 2006

TI – I happen to also know that you have an electrical engineering degree from a very prestigious school. Thus, I’m disappointed that you haven’t figured out why tablets cost more. Dude, information is also input into the tablets using the screen. So not only does there need to be software to interpret the inputs, but also the screen is not “your father’s old laptop screen.” It’s got to be physically capable of receiving inputs from the user with the pen. It’s a different (and obviously more expensive) component than the normal laptop screen.

Why does a titanium driver cost more that a steel driver? Titanium is a more-expensive, more-difficult-to-manufacture metal – just like the tablet PC screen.

4. Fast Follower - August 2, 2006

I also don’t understand how I would use a tablet PC in practice. PCs have to “boot-up.” That’s very diffenent than just “turning on.” My Pocket PC turns on. My ipod turns on. When I hit the on button with these devices, their “on.” When I hit the on button on a tablet PC, it must boot up first before it’s “on.” That’s very non-user-friendly for taking notes. Also, my paper notepad never runs out of juice.

5. Tell it like it TI is! - August 3, 2006

Fast Follower simply doesn’t have the vision. You only have to boot the machine once. That’s like saying I don’t like the gym shoes cause you have to tie them up, then go out and hoop in your sandals. Your paper notepad never runs out of juice, but it does run out of paper. In addition, you have to figure out how you are going to get your handwritten notes into electronic form, or you have to get a 3 ring binder to file and store your notes for future reference. I see your point about the touch screens, but shouldn’t the cost be down by now? I think I am going to take the tablet plunge. Too many possibilities and advantages to wait for the price to drop.

6. Fast Follower - August 5, 2006

Here’s a guy that’s been researching a high speed pda phone for 6 months. But he’s already decided that there’s too many advantages to wait for the price to drop on a tablet pc

7. idsource.colostate.edu - October 22, 2014

idsource.colostate.edu

Help me Understand…Why haven’t Tablet PCs caught on? | Pardon the Interaction


Leave a Reply

