jump to navigation

I want YouTube on my 700wx October 6, 2006

Posted by Tell it like it TI is! in Uncategorized.
trackback

Is this too much to ask??  I know some of the avid PTInteraction readers can help me on this.   I paid good cheese for the 700wx, and excuse me if my expetations are high, but admittedly…. I WANT IT ALL!  Can some one tell me how watch YouTube videos on my 700wx with out downloading, converting files to the PC, and syncing the file to “who knows where”?   Although, I plan to get my slingbox going here soon (Fast Follower knows how to do that), I want YouTube now!  In addition, my daughter now has me addicted to Pandora.com.   In my estimation, I should be able to listen to my radios on this, as well.  Palm if you are going to sell top of the line stuff, you need to be prepared for folks with high expectaions.  Telling me it is in the next release or the technology doesn’t allow me to do stuff, is not the right answer!   PTIers chime in and let’s get this party started!

Comments»

1. Fast Follower - October 10, 2006

As I recall, you’re the one who thought the 700wx would be the answers to all of your mobile problems. What did I tell you? It’s essentially Windows in a small package, but still Windows. Bugs, frustrations and all

2. John - November 16, 2006

point your mobile browser to

http://www.tinytube.net

It may not work with PIE but I’ve had it working with Opera

3. Tell it like it TI is! - November 16, 2006

Thanks, John. I will give it a try and let you know what happens.

BTW, do you know of any method for getting my son’s PSP to work with Slingbox???

4. Tell it like it TI is! - November 20, 2006

John,
Help me understand what this site is… Is this related at all to YouTube, or is it like a YouTube like site??? Can I go to my account on YouTube from here or am I just dreaming again. Let me know. Thanks.

5. Hornswagled - November 20, 2006

Im looking into getting a treo. I just purchased the KRZR and so far I am very dissapointed. I figured I would be but now that Im sure that I dont want to kep this phone I was curious if you were able to get this to work.

I love pandora and if there is a phone out there that can stram pandora and connect to my outlook I would be very happy. I do not want to get the ppc6700 as I DO need to use the phone to actually make calls. My friend has the 6700 and its good for everything but phone calls.

Any ideas?

Things I would want:
Tethering
Stream Pandora/Youtube
Connect to Outlook (like a blackberry)

6. Tell it like it TI is! - November 21, 2006

Hornswagled,
Take a look at our other blog… https://pardontheinteraction.wordpress.com/2006/10/06/700wx-where-are-the-smstext-messages-going/

I waited all summer long for Sprint to get the 700wx. When I finally got it, after about a week of use, I hated it. Other than the text messaging problem, it was clear to me that the 700wx was not ready for prime time. I have never had a phone to lock up as much as the 700wx. I had to reset the thing ALL of the time! Keep in mind that I am not new to the Treo family. I had a 300, 600, and a 650. I finally got Sprint to take the 700wx back and replace it with a ppc6700.

I am quite impressed with the 6700…it works. When I want to connect bluetooth it connects (the 700w was about 50% of the time). I am currently using the WIFI feature more than I thought I would. I am slingboxing with the unit flawlessly. I am streaming my xm radio channels with no problems at all. To quite honest, I am not having any problems with the phone function.

I am a believer, and the Treo+WM5 combination will never be a part of my arsenal any more!!!

7. Hornswaggled - December 14, 2006

Wow, just read your other posts. Funny thing is i picked up the phone today. Ill give it a try and see if this one will be going back. Maybe i should just use my old Nokia 6225 that actually worked for calls and texts.

8. Tell it like it TI is! - December 14, 2006

Good luck. Your experiences might be different, but let us know what you think. After the first week of use (when you think it is really cool), pay close attention to the quirks. What really frustrated me was the bluetooth operation, sometimes it worked and sometime it didn’t detect my earpiece. I found that the more apps that are running the less likely it was to detect the earpiece. Also pay attention to the times the thing just locks up! It was really annoying.

I tell you the 6700 gets better by the day. I never thought the WIFI option would be used that much, but with Sprint’s choppy coverage you never know when Power Vision will be available. When I am at home, work or at a Borders, I switch it to WIFI and it works great. No problems with bluetooth either. My car picks it up, and when I exit the vehicle and switch to my earpiece the person on the other line never knows what I am doing. Like I said. It just works! Please let me know what you think of the 700wx. Mine was returned quite some time ago!

9. Tell it like it TI is! - December 16, 2006

Hornswaggle,
Here is an article for you to read. The article is about the 700p. Take a look at some of the past comments on the 70wx and you tell me if you see any similarities in the issues that Palm has discovered!

Holla back!

http://www.brighthand.com/default.asp?newsID=12689

10. Tell it like it TI is! - June 22, 2007

Finally, folks!!! It is here!! I think YouTube Mobile is up and running! Check it out and let me know what you think! simple type in m.youtube.com on your mobile device explorer.

Tell it Like it Is

11. treo - August 9, 2007

Full Youtube and Google Video access on 700wx:

http://discuss.treocentral.com/showthread.php?p=1324793

12. Tell it like it TI is! - August 20, 2007

PTIers,
Not sure if this is the same solution, but YouTube solutions are popping up everywhere!!! Let us know if they work or not. I will try this solution this week. I will holler back at you with the outcome!!

http://www.pocketpcaddict.com/forums/front-page-content/20337-how-complete-youtube-windows-mobile.html

Keep Telling it like it is!!!

13. LOL_Bidoof - October 17, 2007

http://www.dvdvideosoft.com

omg liek totally go to that website, it liek totally gets ur youtubez on ur phonez lolz omglololol… ok ummmm get ur youtubez on omg omg omg!!!


Leave a Reply

