jump to navigation

Need Help Choosing the Right Portable GPS Unit… October 25, 2006

Posted by Tell it like it TI is! in GPS, Navigation.
trackback

OK, the fellow PTIers are trying to get the Sprint text messaging issue resolved, I have another tech issue that I need assistance with.  For the first time in 4 years, I have ordered a vehicle without a factory navigation system.  My original thought was that I would buy an application for the Treo 700w, but with the way things are going, I am not sure how long I will have this phone!!  If any of you have recommendations that fit the budget (I would like to keep it below 700 bucks), let me hear from you.  I could possibly be convinced to pay a little more, but I am not sure who the players are in this game.  Tomtom and Garmin are the only ones that I know.  A lot have the bluetooth phone feature, and I am not overly convinced that I need to play MP3s.  I do want the 3d display, voice directions, and because of my eyesight I need a good, crisp, clear screen (even in sunlight).   Help me out with your recommendations…… 

Comments»

1. Fast Follower - October 30, 2006

Why in the heck would you even consider a GPS unit that plays MP3s? It’s a GPS unit, not an ipod.

2. Tell it like it TI is! - November 14, 2006

Now that I have a reliable smartphone, I am considering some type of navigation software for it. Does anyone out there have any experience with this type of smartphone software? Let me know. Thanks.

3. Tell it like it TI is! - January 21, 2007

Well, I must say.. while at the CES I met and got a chance to speak with the founder and CEO of ALK Technologies…the product we spoke about was CoPilot Live 6 for WM5. I gotta tell you PTIers, after his explanation I was sold that this was the product for me. Although I will have to by another mini SD card… 2 gig. CoPilot is the bomb! I have already ordered it, it is on the way. I found a 2gig card on ebay last night for 10 bucks. So all I have to do now is wait for the shipments to arrive. I bought the version with the bluetooth gps transmitter, so there will be no wires. I gotta tell you with the large screen on my PPC 6700, I have no doubt that this is the solution for me. My new 300C doesn’t have a factory navigation (but it sure has a HEMI!), so I didn’t want a portable unit that I had to worry about someone busting my window out every time I got out of the car. This is the perfect solution for me, cause I always take my phone with me. Plus I already have the power adapter (my phone charger), and the gps transmitter is wireless. Stay tuned, I will let you know how it works out, but I have no fears.

By the way, Fast Follower will be the fastest follower you’ve ever seen. After I get mine set up, I assure you he will be on the same page!

4. Fast Follower - January 21, 2007

Well, we’ll see how fast I follow. I’m still not sold on CoPilot like TI is. Time will tell.

5. jason - December 2, 2007

Maybe someone could help me out. I’m looking for a portable GPS unit that will be compatible with my treo 700p through the bluetooth connection. Does anyone know what units will work?

Garmin, Magellen, Mio, TomTom?????

Thanks

6. Tell it like it TI is! - December 2, 2007

You may want to do a little bit of research, Jason, but my understanding is that bluetooth is bluetooth regardless of the device. Most of the folks that I know simply go through the bluetooth pairing procedure (just like with a bluetooth headset) and are OK? I have been watching the prices of the Navigation systems… prices are really dropping! I saw a really nice Tom Tom the other day for just $149. My buddy loves it and is really impressed! For bluetooth compatibility, I think you are OK with any unit.

7. Fast Follower - December 3, 2007

Jason, I don’t understand why you want your portable GPS unit to communicate with your Treo. What does that do for you?

8. Tell it like it TI is! - December 4, 2007

Jason,
On behalf of the entire PTI community, I apologize for Fast Follower’s comment. Everyone knows that one of the supplemental features of the new GPS units is the hands-free phone feature! He doesn’t know what he doesn’t know!!!

Just telling it like it is!!!

9. Fast Follower - December 4, 2007

My bad! I guess I didn’t remember these newer units have this feature. In fact my portable Tomtom I use when I’m out of town using a rental car has this feature as well. I use my bluetooth earpiece while in the car (even though my car has bluetooth built in as well).

10. Tell it like it TI is! - December 5, 2007

For the money, it looks like the TomTom – ONE 3rd Edition GPS is the best value. I personally know a few folks with the unit and they absolutelty love it. For $149, you can’t beat it this value. The unit doesn’t have the bluetooth feature, but I think you are better off with a headset. From my limited shopping experience, you can get a good bluetooth headset or in-car unit for less than the extra you would have to pay for a gps unit with bluetooth. Your call….I am just calling it like I see it.

11. I want to buy garmin nuvi 660 - April 13, 2008

So at last , which one u choosed?

12. garmin gps free lifetime maps - June 3, 2013

Good post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
It will always be exciting to read through content from other writers and
use a little something from their web sites.

13. cookshack smokers - July 14, 2013

Howdy! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.

Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about setting up
my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Appreciate it


Leave a Reply

