jump to navigation

PPC 6700 is very impressive… Got to give credit where credit is due!!! November 26, 2006

Posted by Tell it like it TI is! in Uncategorized.
trackback

I have been a Treo fan for quite some time.  For those that have read our other posts, you know that I have had a Treo 300, 600, 650, and a 700wx, and they have all been with Sprint.  This is the first phone that I have had in a long time that does just about everything I have asked of it.  I thought the answer was the 700wx, but you all know that story!  Besides the carrier issues, and always losing coverage, the Treo 700wx was just too sensitive.  I bet I had to reset that thing at least 6 times a day.  It just couldn’t handle the workload.  It was worse than a 3 time felon cause it was always locked up! I thought I had $600 piece of ice cause it was always frozen!  Not sure exactly why this was, but I don’t have to understand it…  I am the end-user.

I am quickly falling in love with the PPC 6700 for the following reasons;  First off, it never locks up.  I have tried to overload it with tasks, and it just keeps taking it!  The phone function is great.  The sound is great, and the bluetooth functionality is not quirky like the 700wx.  Not sure why but somtimes the 700wx would detect my headset, other times it treated it like a one-legged step child and just ignored it!  Oh yeah, then I would have to reset it.  Let’s not even talk about the screen.  The size makes it great for those that like to Slingbox and watch videos, especially when you can quickly chang to the landscape view.  Nothing on the market beats it.  I know, I know, you can find earlier comments from me calling the thing ugly and bulky.  When I compare it the 700wx (I still have mine, waiting for a Sprint return kit), it is about the same size.  And just like a true love, the look grows on you.  I was at a local Friday’s the other night and the crowd grew when the television went out and I was slingboxing the football game at the bar!!!  How cool is that???? I am able to use the same case and holster that I bought for the 700wx.

And just like a champion Whis player , in any debate the 6700 always has the big joker, the trump card, the big stick that will shut any 700wx user right up….WIFI!!!!  I didn’t quite realize that I would use this feature much, but when I am sitting at Borders… well, you know the rest of that story! 

I am also impressed with the button configuration.  Very nice!  You can almost get to any of the main functions with one the many buttons on and around the unit.  They are nicely recessed so that the ole mistaken button push phenomenon is kept to minimum.  The joystick seems to be robust for long term use, and the slide out key pad is easy to use of those of us that have big hands! 

Another thing that is a somewhat small thing, but is very recognizable is that this is the first phone that came with everything! In addition, you don’t get punked into buying a bunch of proprietary connectors! This thing uses just standard USB connectors.  Oh what a concept!  You don’t feel setup like you do when you know that Palm is going to get, at least, another $75 bucks from you on basic necessities! Kinda like buying high end golf clubs, and the manufacturer charges you for headcovers!  It is just not right!  Take a lesson Palm.  So far, I am slingboxing, listening to my xm streaming satellite radio, using the media player, and listening to the audio via the bluetooth headset!  I tried to do a little of this with the 700wx, and it really couldn’t handle it.

The only complaint so far, is that the screen seems to be very difficult to see in the sunlight.  I hope to improve this when I purchase some anti-glare screen protectors this week.  If I can resolve this, I am just tickled to death….  So far, I have to say that this is the best smartphone that I have ever used!!!!!  Oh yeah, I could send text messages right out of the box!!  Something that the 700wx could not do.

I know Fast Follwer is going to have some smart comments to make about my sudden change of heart, but when you are in love, you don’t care what others say about you!

Comments»

1. Fast Follower - November 26, 2006

I tried to tell you who you should fall in love with a long time ago. But did you listen to me? No, as usual! You fell for the hot babe with no substance and the bs resume. You know her name. 700wx.

But let’s not get too giddy over the 6700 either. I’m here to tell you, anything that runs WM5 (including the 6700) isn’t too great either. WM5 might be powerful, but it just doesn’t work very well. I long for the device that’s simple and stable like Palm devices, and powerful like WM5 devices. Maybe Apple should create a Phone / PDA.


Leave a Reply

