jump to navigation

Is HD (High Definition Television) More Hype than Reality? December 20, 2006

Posted by Fast Follower in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’ve been thinking for a long time about upgrading my round Directv dish to the oval dish which would allow me to receive HD broadcasts through Directv once I purchase an HD receiver for my HD ready TV. Somehow I don’t really believe I’m missing anything significant, however. If all there is to watch in HD is The Discovery Channel, then HD isn’t for me. I want to be able to watch real programming – programming like pro and college sports, popular network programs like 24, premium channel movies, etc. And I don’t want to have to switch to antenna mode to get over-the-air network HD (that’s way too much work). And what about PVRing (Tivo’ing) HD programs? If I have to be on the network’s schedule to see HD programming then that seems like a step backwards from the time-shifting I’ve gotten used to with Tivo.

Am I missing something?

Another question: Does my HD ready Pioneer Elite rear projection TV that I’ve owned for a few years have to have an HDMI connection to receive good, better, best HD?

Comments»

1. Fast Follower - December 29, 2006

I just checked out Directv HD at a relative’s house. Wow! We were watching the NBA on TNT. What a significant visual experience. He also has the Directv HD Tivo box. I watched a HD recorded college hoops game as well. It was just as visually appealing. Maybe this HD thing is worthwhile after all.


Leave a Reply

