jump to navigation

Heading to the CES Show, PTIers!! January 7, 2007

Posted by Tell it like it TI is! in CES, Las Vegas, Uncategorized.
trackback

PTIers,

I am heading to Las Vegas for the 2007 Consumer Electronics Show.   I will be like a kid in a candy store.  I will try updating this post each evening to let you know about the cool stuff that I encounter.   I am taking a camera and plan to have some photos for you, but this is my first time attending this show, and I am not if they will let me in with a camera…, but you know that I am going to try.  Hopefully, I don’t run into any Sprint folks and get thrown out of the joint!!!!   Update you soon, and remember to always Tell It Like it IS!!!!!!!

Comments»

1. Fast Follower - January 8, 2007

Of course you can bring a camera. If not, just use the camera on your PPC 6700. I expect cool photos and good commentary. Do not disappoint like you always disappoint on the golf course.

2. Fast Follower - January 8, 2007

What’s the latest at CES in HD TVs? I don’t think I want a big plasma or lcd. I might get a dlp TV. What about getting Tivo content from the box to other places and devices? What about the latest PDA/phone advances?

3. Tell it like it TI is! - January 8, 2007

I gotta tell you. CES is unbelievable! This is the biggest convention in the world…literally. For a newcomer like myself, I am simply overwhelmed. I spent the day walking around and I still haven’t seen everything. Tomorrow’s another day, I guess. So far here are the big players…

XM
I really like the SkyFi3 portable unit, although the rep told me that this unit will not have the 30 minute running recording so you can’t do the TIVO thing and reverse. I was a little disappointed.

Microsoft is huge, the know exactly how to dominate. There displays are awesome! XBOX, Zune, and everything else is right in your face when you walk in the door.

Vonage has free calls and orange phone booths all over the place! They are really making their presence known.

TV’s are everywhere. I gotta tell you plasma, dlp, lcd? I don’t know. From what I gather if space is not a concern and you are not going to try to mount it on the wall, DLP seems to be the cost-effective solution. I just can’t tell the difference.

Another theme is this HD Radio. I will tell you that I don’t yet get it. From what I can gather, local stations will be able to offer up to 8 different broadcasts which will give listeners more options, but I am not yet sure what they are trying to do. I can’t tell the difference in sound quality in the convention hall, and the hardware seems to be pretty expensive. Can’t even tell who they are competing with??? Go figure.

ESPN HD is also making a statement. I met and spoke with the Ice Man himself…George Gervin at lunch today.

I will try to get more info as the conference goes on, but this thing is huge, and it is not even open to the public!


Leave a Reply

