jump to navigation

720p versus 1080p January 16, 2007

Posted by Fast Follower in Uncategorized.
trackback

Leave it to TI to call me to get my advice about HD TVs.  This afternoon, TI phones me to find out if he should spend less bucks for a 720p resolution DLP set, or more dollars for a 1080p DLP set?  Of course, being the all-knowing cat that I am, I told him that 1080 was the way to go.  My logic was that since major TVs are purchased to last for a long time, a 1080p purchase would be the best long-term technology protection and financial buy.  Secondarily, I told him to stay away from sets that have the HD receiver built in (since he’s a Directv customer that will need the Directv HD receiver anyway).  I also told him to make sure he gets a set with plenty of inputs (including the HDMI inputs).

Ok PTIers.  Just between you and me….was this good advice?

Comments»

1. Fast Follower - January 16, 2007

I confirmed with the local HD TV expert in the office today….1080p is the way to go. It’s especially the way to go if you’re getting a set bigger than 50 inches. However, he did say that if you’re more than about 15 feet away from the screen, you may not be able to see the difference.

2. Tell it like it TI is! - January 21, 2007

Well I made my decision and I am going with the 1080p, Toshiba, 62 inch DLP. I will have to pay about 1800 bucks, but this seems to be the best screen size, resolution, and price for the money. Oh, yeah the stand is included. I have about 24 hours before I lay the green on the table, so if you know of a better deal, please let me know. I never would have thought that I would pay this much for a television, but what the heck. I am not sure if I am going to jump right into HD directv or not. I want to see what the Comcast/Tivo deal produces! We’ll see.

As always… Tell It Like It IS!!!!!!!

3. Tell it like it TI is! - January 29, 2007

I wasn’t too hyped on getting a set with the Tuner, but I did. I am glad that I did. Because of all of the changes with Directv, Comcast, and Tivo, I want to wait before I commit or change regarding my HD provider. In the meantime, I have purchase a relatively cheap HD antenna, and can now watch my local programming in HD while I wait! I will tell you, I thought that I was done for life watching over-the-air broadcasts, but it is really nice to watch Tiger Woods win while watching it in HD yesterday!


Leave a Reply

