jump to navigation

My New Dilemma…Figuring out HD Programming!!! February 2, 2007

Posted by Tell it like it TI is! in Uncategorized.
trackback

Ok…I got the TV 62 inch, 1080 resolution to bring in the best HD resolution possible.   Now, here is the dilemma…. How am I going to watch HD programming.   I really have had no problems with Directv.  I love it, but I also love my TIVO.  Not PVR, or DVR, or whatever they call it….  I want Tivo!  Comcast just signs some type of deal with Tivo.  Does that mean eventually my Directv/Tivo box one day won’t work???   I found some Directv HD /Tivo boxes on ebay, but I don’t know if it will work in a year.   It has been so long since I have had cable, I am not sure what the quality is like anymore.   Oh, by the way, while I am making this choice and trying to sort through things, I have gone out and purchased a an HD antenna, so I can at least watch my local stations in HD.   So here is what I am looking at;

  •  It can go with HD Directv.  This will probably involve giving up my Tivo interface and I am forced to use the new Directv DVR interface.  BTW, I also have to get on top of the garage and switch to an oval HD dish!
  • I can wait for Comcast, rent a box, and hope that they don’t mess up the Tivo experience.  I will also probably subject myself to monthly rate changes too.   I might, though, get a chance to bundle my phone, TV, and internet into a comparably priced package.  Not sure, but that makes sense, right?
  • Or I can wait for the AT&T solution….internet TV.  Don’t know much about this, but I will be looking into it.

I need your help PTIers, what have you found out.  Are there any other options?  Everyone tells you that there are 100s of HD channels coming.  Who is telling the truth?  What is AT&T up to?   What is Comcast going to do with Tivo?  Will I have to pay for Tivo now?  Is Directv’s DVR interface that bad?

 Come on… help me out and Tell it Like it IS!

Comments»

1. Fast Follower - February 4, 2007

Regarding the choice between Directv and Tivo…..I’m inclined to like Tivo more than Directv. I have one of the new Directv DVRs. The interface isn’t very user friendly like Tivo. It works. But I don’t like it. Maybe they’ll continue to improve it – particularly with the HD DVR.

Like you, I’ve been a Directv’er for a long time. I’m not sure I want to subject myself to what my impression of Comcast cable is like. But if Comcast has Tivo, maybe it’s worth it.

2. Tell it like it TI is! - February 4, 2007

For me, I am just going to sit back and wait. Pricing is going to be a big factor for me. Right now, I have premium Directv and Tivo for under 100 bucks a month. After buying all of the equipment, I don’t want a huge monthly bill. Of course, if Comcast has a great bundled package for customers with internet, phone, and television service, I might have take a look at my Vonage, internet, and television prices. Let’s wait and see. From what I understand, we aren’t missing much HD programming yet. Who is going to step it up?

PTIers, let us hear what is happening out there and your rationale for some of your HD choices. It will be great to compare.

Tell it Like it IS!

3. sam - May 2, 2007

This site has over 500 tv worldwide station, episodes from a range of TV shows also does have more then 5000 worldwide newspaper .


Leave a Reply

