jump to navigation

Another Sprint Scam….Roaming Charges!! February 16, 2007

Posted by Tell it like it TI is! in Sprint.
trackback

Is it just me, or is Sprint playing games again?  Help me understand….I have been with Sprint quite some time now.  I have been living in the same area for over 12 years, but each year my roaming minutes seem to be increasing by the bill!  All the while, I keep seeing the Sprint commercials in my local area claiming to improve coverage continuously.  Help me understand, how Sprint keeps improving coverage, but my roaming charges keep increasing!  So I am supposed to believe that you are increasing coverage in my major metropolitan area, but I am increasingly finding myself outside of the coverage area even though I haven’t moved in years!  What a scam!  PTIers, something doesn’t smell quite right with this scenario!

Here is the kicker, however.  I called Sprint to complain, and without skipping a beat they tried to add yet another monthly charge for some type of unlimited roaming plan!  Can you believe this!  Let me see how this works, I sell you a plan, I back off and increase your roaming charges, I claim to increase coverage in your area, and then I get so customer driven that I offer you an unlimited roaming add-on to your existing plan to solve the problem.  I was born at night, but not last night!

Has anyone else noticed this?  Let me know if you have been scammed too!  I am so tired of Sprint.  Verizon, hear my prayers!

Tell It Like It IS…… 

Comments»

1. Fast Follower - February 17, 2007

Since you seem to have a hard time getting a good Sprint signal in your house (and your office), I wonder if you automatically get moved to roaming on some other network when this occurs?

2. betsy - March 2, 2007

well i have sprint and i think they are scamming me and my mother because they are charging us for downloads to our phone when we dont even know how to. and they also said that our bill will be 59.99 a month but it is near the 100 mark.

3. Tell it like it TI is! - March 2, 2007

Betsy,
It doesn’t surprise me. Now all of a sudden Sprint is not able to disable any of the key functions. However, as they become more integrated (texting, internet, picture mail, etc.) the user really is not aware when you cross over into one service or another! Sprint is being intentionally vague, and deceitful, because they know if you don’t sign up for the plan, and then find yourself “accidentally” using a feature, they can charge you premium rates! They aren’t fooling anyone. If you want to see some other unbelievable scams, take a look at the other convesations at …

https://pardontheinteraction.wordpress.com/2006/12/01/now-that-the-text-messaging-problem-has-been-fixedwatch-out-for-the-latest-sprint-text-message-scam/

The only way we can defeat them is by educating the users and have them know what to look out for!

Keep Telling It Like it IS!!!!

4. K - June 26, 2007

i just got charged $198 for roaming on one phone call…and i’ve never been charged for roaming until this month…it’s out of hand…and the call they claim i was roaming from was in my house…how does one go from not roaming for 18 months to get charged 198 for roaming?

Astrid - August 8, 2012

Same thing happened to me they charged me 111.00 for roaming charges for calls that were made to a local cell phone. They only did this for 1 month the other months the local cell calls were free as advertised. Initially they admitted it was an error and said I would get a refund but they lied and when I called back was told I still had to pay the amount. So I paid 111 dollars in local cell phone charges while sprint advertised unlimited cell to cell calls. I ended up cancel long my service and went to ntelos. Who has been billing me fairly

5. Tell it like it TI is! - July 2, 2007

I believe it. It doesn’t take long to rack up that type of amount. My only advise is to fight it, fight it, fight it. It may take a few representatives, but I have found that most of the reps want to do the right thing, but have their hands tied by stupid a@# policy and procedures. Every now and then you will get someone that knows how to work the system.

Good luck, and let all the PTIers know how it turns out!

Keep Telling It Like It Is!

6. Angry with Sprint - July 12, 2007

I’ve had smiliar problems with Sprint charging me for Roaming. Despite most of the calls being Mobile to Mobile, they are still charging me as Roaming. I’ve read my contract to them and they’ve agreed that I am correct and they aren’t sure what the problem is. So their action plan is to submit my issue to the manager. A few days go by and I never get a call back. When I call them they pretent that they tried calling me several times and got no response. Whatever happened to leaving a message?? AND why would I get calls from everyone else but Sprint. This issue is still ongoing. grrr.
Sprint has done the occasional, oh hey we’ve decided to charge you for two state and county taxes fees. This happened for a few months in a row despite my monthly call to fix it. Real cool!
They’ve also tried to sneak in random $.10 texting charges. I’ve called to complain about the texting charges and I’ve gotten responses like, “Ma’am, it’s only $.10”. My response, “then credit my account the measly $.10 because I refuse to eat it every month. I’m super annoyed with Sprint!

7. Tell it like it TI is! - July 12, 2007

This might be the answer. Check out this article. Apparently if we keep calling customer service, Sprint will release you from the contract to make you happy! As soon as I find a plan that I like with a different carrier, I am going to call to request to be released. Heck, I should have more calls than anyone! In addition, I have probably stirred up so much trouble that I have to be close to the top of the list.

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/19681390/

Just keep telling it like it is….

8. susan lawson - July 24, 2007

I am a lawyer and this keeps happening to a friend of mine and to me. I want to do something about this. If you have been charged for roaming even though you have unlimited roaming or you have been cancelled because Sprint claims you roamed too much then please email me at: personalinjurylawyer@earthlink.net.

9. Tell it like it TI is! - July 25, 2007

PTIers,
I would love to see S. Lawson wage a full force campaign on behalf of the voiceless (especially if you have Sprint) victims. Drop her an email and keep the PTI community in the loop as the efforts progress!

Remember, keep telling it like it is!

10. Tell it like it TI is! - July 25, 2007

Hey Susan, after you finish crushing Sprint, we may need you to take on our Xbox issue!

Check this one out….

https://pardontheinteraction.wordpress.com/2007/03/21/xbox-360-freezing-problem-how-do-we-fix-this/

11. Tell it like it TI is! - July 30, 2007

Hey, Susan. When you are done assisting with Sprint and the xBox freezing problem, can you help us out with some advise for the Directv folks? We are in need of help! Check it out.

https://pardontheinteraction.wordpress.com/?s=deactivation

12. Tell it like it TI is! - August 20, 2007

Susan,
Still there??? I read this ruling the other day, but I can’t for the life of me interpret the customer benefit here. Can you help? Looks like there might be something to this.

http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,135637-c,legalissues/article.html

Can any PTIer tell us what this means. I mean really means when I look at my bill each month. Note: Read the article. You will find that Sprint was one of the biggest opposers of this!! Surprised?

Tell It Like It Is!!!

13. Tell it like it TI is! - September 3, 2007

Roaming Charges are now $.69/minute!!!!!!

The story just gets better as we go along. We have been through the increase in text messaging charges, we have seen Sprint ask over 1000 customers to leave because they call Customer Service too often, and now Sprint is quietly raising their roaming charges to $.69/minute, as of August 1, 2007. I have to admit, with summer vacations and all, this one slipped by me! Come on PTIers, in this day and age are we supposed to believe that these costs are customer friendly? Let alone realistic? What is Sprint trying to do here, other than hold us all hostage!!! Not sure, but does this particular rate change allow us to get out of our contracts??? Please let me know. I gotta get away from Sprint!!!!

Oh, by the way, Sprint would be more than happy

14. kirk - November 22, 2007

there is actually two ways to avoid roaming charges, one is to set your your phone to sprint only set up,. Second is to add Roaming to your plan,. Most of the New plan right now already includes roaming,. but the old plans requires an additional packages that will cover your roaming minutes. This will cost an additional $5/month.. it’s better to spend $5 each month rather than be charge morethan it,.

15. R Long - March 27, 2008

My husband’s bill was so high we went in to see what we could do to lower our monthly bill and discovered some service rep added roaming, internet, and international calling to our plan without permission. We have teenage boys (which is why all those were blocked to begin with) who figured out internet was working and they had used it a few times. The salesman at the Sprint store told us they have had this problem increasing over the last few weeks, and its so bad they are tracking and reporting. Its so the reps on the phone can increase their bonus checks. While we were standing there another family came in and the exact same thing happened to them. When my husband called Sprint they refused to credit his account. the Sprint stoer manager ended up arguing with them on the phone too and they still refused. The store has credited my husbands account but we’re still burning over the Sprint supervisor on the phone who refused to help.

16. Tell it like it TI is! - April 1, 2008

Not much good in this instance, but I find that anything that you can take care of with Sprint via the email Customer Service is a LOT better. I have had instances where the phone rep looks at the email rep’s solution and is in awe of what they were able to do for me. Now, I always send an email first!!! I don’t think the email center is in the US. Sad to say, but I get better treatment from those outside of the country!!!

Just telling it like it is!!!!

17. son of sprint - April 19, 2008

tomorrow morning, I am going to wait at sprint store just before opening, and stab the first sprint employee in the head, and leave.

18. Tell it like it TI is! - April 19, 2008

s o s,
Hopefully, you are joking. We don’t want any of the PTIers resorting to violence…especially over cellular service (or the lack there of). Take a few deep breaths and step away from the situation for a while. I know this stuff can get frustrating, but it ain’t that deep!!!

Walk away from Sprint and check out Verizon.

Just telling it like it is!!!

19. Night - April 20, 2008

Hey same here same here idk what they trying to do, pssh making more profit to me, i have had sprint for like a year now and this last month the roaming just keeped on comming and coming on when i dont have a signal. i think they are automatic now. SOME ONE NEEDS TO SUEEEEEEE!!!!!

20. Tell it like it TI is! - April 21, 2008

Might be a slim chance, but take a look at the recent coverage map for Sprint. It will tell you where the worst coverage is. In my case, I lived smack in the middle of one of the weak coverage zones. I called, and pointed this out to the rep. I asked to be let out of my contract because I couldn’t use the service. The rep quickly responded with free unlimited roaming for all of the phones on my plan!!!! I couldn’t believe it!! Its worth a try…right?\

Just telling it like it is, cause that’s what I do!!!!

21. ghoulie13 - July 2, 2008

sprint head $ is in kansas city and when i moved there i still got fucking roaming!!! what the hell!! i lived in the river market just west of the “sprint center” and i was still charged!!!! when i called they just keeep offering upgrades. (mo money) at a 59.99 dollar plan i spend more than 125 a month!!

22. Lanny - October 4, 2008

Not sure if people will still respond to this or not, but how did you guys make out? I called last night b/c i had recieved a notice saying i was roaming to much, after a year of the same usage trends!!! I talked to a guy last night and he said Sprint was offering me to get out of the agreement without any termination fee and my last month’s bill being paid by them. I unfortanitly didn’t take the offer last night but i decided to this morning. When i called this morning and talked to them, they had no idea what i was talking about, i was told that i wasn’t roaming to much and i shouldn’t have recieved a letter saying i was. I’m sick of sprint! And i have unlimitted roaming, Can they charge me roaming charges with unlimitted roaming?

23. Tell it like it TI is! - October 5, 2008

Lanny,
My suggestion is to call customer service and immediately ask for the Customer Retention representative. Through months of arguing and holding and complaining, I finally got free roaming added to all of my lines. Maybe you should give that request a shot and tell it like it is!!!

24. Joel - March 18, 2009

I signed up for the unlimited roaming in the Sprint America plan since I am a flight attendant. I have never had charges until last month I started calling from a remote place in New Mexico. My bill is at $2,800. Called customer service. The first two times they told me it was their mistake and they would fix it and each month it keeps keeping bigger. Now they say it isn’t their tower and they don’t have a contract with that tower’s provider . Well, then how can they say I have unlimited roaming all across America HELP

25. chris - July 8, 2009

I’m stationed in Guam and when I got my new contract last August while home(GA) on leave, I made sure that there was no extra roaming charge in Guam. It has been free here for the last 2 years. All of a sudden they apparently change it to where Guam is now International roaming even though its a US territory and uses no international towers. The last two months I have had bills over 300 dollars, despite the fact that I very, very rarely use the phone. So they are also screwing service members by going against the original contract. Any idea how to get these charges taken off? Just call repeatedly and complain???

26. Mary Sullivan - September 17, 2009

I hate sprint!!!! they just terminated me for using too much roaming calls even though i had no idea they were planning on doing this!!!! and all the calls i made were in the same area as the place where i first got the phone!!

27. kesha - June 14, 2010

Sprint is a scam! They sell you a plan in your area but then charge you for roaming. I got charged for roaming when calling another sprint pcs customer number and I had free mobile to mobile on my account. The thing is I had never been charged for roaming in my own house until I begin to use my phone more often. Since I was only using my mobile to mobile minutes I believe they found a way to get more money. There roaming charges are bogus! How can I get charged for roaming in my own house. Dropped calls, missed calls and now roaming! I’m switching companies.

28. bobby - February 1, 2011

CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT

CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT

CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT


Leave a Reply

