jump to navigation

iPhone first impressions…Life after the hype!!! July 9, 2007

Posted by Tell it like it TI is! in Apple, iPhone, iPod, touchscreen keyboard, Uncategorized.
trackback

Well, if you recall, I attended the CES last January and heard about the iPhone announcement in California.  There was an awful lot of hype and anticipation.  We are well into the launch and I would like to resurrect the dialogue to see if Apple’s product development keeps pace with the marketing department.  In other words, does the product live up to the hype???  PTIers let’s here from you.   Fast Follower???  Where are you??  Nothing to say about the iPhone?  I find this very hard to believe!!!!

Comments»

1. Tell it like it TI is! - July 9, 2007

Here are a couple of my comments from the old post. I put these out on July 2, but I thought we could start another fresh dialogue…

PTIers,
I thought I would resurrect this particular post. As you recall while at the CES in Janauary, I heard about the iPhone for the first time. Now that the product has launched, I still have the same questions…

As you recall, in January, Fast Follwer and I questioned the ease of use and the acceptability of the touchscreen keyboard. So far the reviews are mixed, but I think that my initial caution might be true. It appears that the device is OK, but might not be a good business device. It appears that the touchscreen keyboard to input text lacks the haptic feel that most older business people are used to.

Is this a problem or will it just take some getting used to? Will older users have the patience and give the device enough time before they get totally frustrated with the whole text input scheme?

Well, I have a personal friend that has already returned his unit. His primary reason was the text inputting! Instead of recapping his comments, I will ask him to post some “first thoughts”. By the way this is the same buddy that was at CES with me in January.

Cutting Edge iPhoners… Let us hear some of your first reactions and comments. We need to hear you TELL IT LIKE IT IS!!!

See the keyboard review in this article…

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/6260904.stm

2. Tell it like it TI is! - July 16, 2007

PTIers,
Got my first hands-on experience with the iPhone. My initial reaction is that it is a GREAT iPod. In fact, the interface really works well and being able to flip through the album covers with a swipe of your finger is really cool! Sort of reminds me of going through my old DJ crates (of albums) back in the 80’s! Fun stuff.

However, when I got a little more serious to see how this thing works as a productivity device/business unit, I must say it fell short. Again, the thing that was really the show stopper was the touch screen keyboard. I tried for about 10 minutes to simply type “this is a test”, and I couldn’t do it once without error. The only way to do it almost error free was to take my index finger and punch out the letters one by one! Unacceptabel

I ran across an article that sited 13 Reasons for not going to an iPhone. The reasons noted were;

1. The iPhone isn’t 3G.
2. The iPhone can’t serve as a modem.
3. The iPhone doesn’t talk to Lotus Notes.
4. The iPhone doesn’t have a chat client.
5. There’s no Slingbox client for the iPhone.
6. The iPhone doesn’t have enough storage to be my primary media player.
7. The iPhone requires too many clicks to get stuff done.
8. The iPhone is remarkably uncustomizable.
9. The iPhone doesn’t let you edit office documents.
10. And it doesn’t have a To-Do List.
11. And its note-taking app is too bare-bones to be very useful.
12. The iPhone’s contract requirement rankles me.
13. The iPhone’s virtual keyboard is surprisingly good; the 8525’s real one is better.

The full article can be read at http://blogs.pcworld.com/techlog/archives/004912.html

Tell it Like it Is….

3. Fast Follower - July 16, 2007

I played with one as well in our local Apple store. I also have a work colleague that has one. For me, the show stopper is the keyboard. Why should I wait a week to get accustomed to the keyboard?

4. Tell it like it TI is! - July 18, 2007

Hate to say, I told you so, but…..

5. Tell it like it TI is! - August 1, 2007

Another thing that I discovered today… the iPod has no Cut and Paste function!!! What’s up with that? Is that an oversight or just another great design feature? Fast Follower… Let’s hear you defend this one!

Just tell it like it is!!!

6. Fast Follower - August 2, 2007

I can’t defend it. But I’ve stopped trying to determine the success of a product by my limited frame of mind. Presently the iPhone isn’t for me. But neither is a Toyota Prius. Yea I know it’s “green” and all. But to me, it’s ugly. But what do I know. Toyota is gonna sell 200,000 of them this year to people who evidently like it.

7. Tell it like it TI is! - August 2, 2007

Is this true, PTIers??? Has Fast Follower lost his fight??? I was expecting to hear how Apple was so far ahead in the design game, that they figured out that cutting and pasting was no longer necessary. I was waiting to hear how I didn’t understand the non-cut and paste strategy!!

Well, I think the operative words are…”my limited frame of mind”. Fast Follower has to learn to see the whole picture. This has always been his problem. When we were younger, playing basketball, he could never see the whole floor. He was always in his own little world feeling good about his game. Later in life, as we learned to golf, he still has the same problem! He doesn’t see the whole course, he plays shot by shot and feels good when he hits a good shot, but forgets that there is water ahead of him and hits it right in the “drinK”. You gotta look at the entire picture!!!

Is 200,00 units some type of measure for success?? If Ford sells only 200,000 F-150s it is a very, very bad year!!! Again, its all relative!

BTW, the government susidy just ran out for Prius hybrids. Did you see that they are now coming with a base model that has no cruise control or any of the normal standard features! How could this be? I thought with the green image that these things were selling like hot cakes! Do people really like the product? Is it possible that the hybrid equation coupled with a vehicle that is not really functional for anythng but commuting is finally starting to reveal the flaws of the business equation?? Who knows, but you have to look at the big picture and always TELL IT LIKE IT IS!

8. Tell it like it TI is! - September 17, 2007

Great design, great design, ground breaking design…. This is all that Fast Follower has been screaming about Apple stuff… especially about the iPhone. Guess what I just found out.. you can’t even replace the battery on this thing!!! When the battery starts going, you have to send it in for $80 dollars to have it replaced!!! Correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t the result of great design some type of customer benefit???

Fast Follower?? What do you think now?? I really don’t make this stuff up… I just tell it like it is!!!


Leave a Reply

