jump to navigation

PPC 6800… the Mogul is Here!!! I think I’m in love…again! July 22, 2007

Posted by Tell it like it TI is! in htc mogul, mogul, PPC 6700, PPC 6800, qwerty keyboard, smartphone, Sprint.
trackback

OK PTIers, I admit.  I hated the look of the PPC 6700 when Fast Follower first got his.  I was a diehard Treo user from the days of the Treo 300.   In fact, here are my exact commets from over a year ago……

“The problem that I have with the 6700. It is ugly. I don’t want to take it out in public, its so ugly. It looks like a thick ice cream bar! Let’s face it…a car can have all the horsepower and interior features, but if it doesn’t look good on the outside, you don’t want it. Let’s face it part of being on the leading edge is being and looking good! I like the 6700 behind closed doors, but I can’t be seen on a date with it!”

But as I got to know the 6700, I grew to love its functionality.  At the time there was no phone with Wifi, touchscreen, Slingboxability, etc.  I turned in my 700wx and have never looked back.  

However, the other day I was in the Sprint store with my daughter, and I saw it out of the corner of my eye.  I tried not to look.  I told myself that I was there to get my daughter’s phone fixed and not to purchase a new device.  I told myself that I needed all of my extra cash for our upcoming family vacation.  But I couldn’t resist.  There it was the PPC  6800, the HTC Mogul.  I saw some early versions of the 6800 at the CES show last year, but there have been some refinements since then.  Simply put…  after the makeover, the device looks good!!!

I was quickly reminded of the lyrics from the 1981 hit by Slave……

But I’m Lookin’ At You From The Corner Of My Eye
I Can See You Now, You’re Steppin’ So High And I’m ….

Love At First Sight, Ooh, Baby, You’re Blowin’ My Mind
I Just Got To Let You Know, Energy Flowin’ I Said It Feels So Good
I Gotta Tell You My Name Is “Tell It Like It Is”, What’s Yours, Baby, Whoa !!!!

PTIers, I gotta tell you, I am not ready for a new device quite yet, but I gotta get the Mogul.  I am going to resist, but I already know that I can’t fight this one.  I will have one within the next 60 days.

Here is a comprehensive write up on the unit…. http://www.mobiletechreview.com/phones/HTC-Mogul.htm

Does anyone have one?  Is there anything the thing doesn’t do?  I don’t know much about the new Qualcomm CPU, but maybe this is what Windows Mobile 6 needed to get rid of the slight sluggishness that exists in the 6700.  In the review above, the thing has all of the stars filled in!!!  

PTIers, let me hear from you.  

 Ipod vs. Mogul

Comments»

1. Fast Follower - July 24, 2007

So tell me…other than running Mobile 6, what’s better about this over the 6700? From the pictures it doesn’t even look much different…..a little curvy’er maybe….But is that worth leaving your current love. It might be”cheaper to keep her.”

2. Tell it like it TI is! - July 25, 2007

See Fast Follower, that’s what you don’t get. In addition to being functional parts of our lives, they are also a statement! Remember these lyrics from The Time???

“I got a penthouse in Manhattan, two more in Malibu.
I bought a ’87s Cadillac Seville, girl I got a Mazarati too.
I wear diamonds on my fingers, I got a couple on my toes.
I wear the finest perfume money can buy, it keeps me smellin’ like a rose.”

You see it ain’t always about what’s necessary! Sometimes its about making a statement. None of that stuff that Morris was singing about was necessary. But it was COOL!

Cause you forgot this, here is the rest….

“If you wonder how I do it, there’s just one simple rule.
I’m just cool. Honey, baby, can’t you see?
Girl, I’m so cool. Ain’t nobody bad like me”

That’s it. No other explanation. My only complaint was that the 6700 was a little ugly. The 6800 looks good! Oh by the way, it also has the Qualcom processer that is a little faster, the “antenna nub” is gone, and WM6 is a little more stable. Just in case you needed some functional reasons!

Again, just telling it like it is!

3. Fast Follower - July 25, 2007

Let me correct you. The 6800 looks “better.” It doesn’t look “cool.” Something like the iPhone looks “cool.” The penthouse in Manhanttan is an iPhone. The 6800 is the Chevy Tahoe. An iPhone is a Cadillac Escalade. Now, there’s nothing wrong with a new Tahoe. It’s got functionality and problably rides better than the Caddy ’cause it doesn’t ride on 20s. But which would you really rather have?

4. Tell it like it TI is! - July 26, 2007

I guess I don’t understand what you are talking about!!! The iPhone is a rectangle, about the same size as the iPod that I have had for years!!! How can you possibly compare (from a design aspect) the iPod with Cadillac. Cadillac literally redefined the brand with innovative design, and you have the audacity to say that iPone is leading edge design???? You are clearly a victim of the Apple marketing machine. Did you have to go through some type of conditioning before they would sell you a laptop. Apple does no wrong, Apple has no problems, Apple is leading edge design….

I put a picture of the two phones side by side in the post. Tell me again, about the innovative design????

Fast Follower you have to get off of this Apple soapbox! Your credibility is waning!!!!

Hey don’t blame me, I’m just telling it like it is!!!

I gonna get a Mogul. In fact, I am reminded by the old DTrain song…

“Bustin’ up on a cloud, shout out loud
It’s the one for me
With my Mogul by my side
The world will be mine
It’s the one for me” !!!!

Ain’t nuthin wrong with Tellin it Like it Is!!!!!

Remember, you can’t type your email on an iPhone. Tell me again about the innovative design!!!!

5. Fast Follower - July 26, 2007

Can you PTIers believe this guy? He has the audacity to put a two dimensional picture of a 6800 and an iPhone side by side to make his point that the 6800 is as good looking as the iPhone. That’s like only showing a picture of the front end of the Tahoe and the Escalade. They both have a grill, bumber and headlights that look kinda’ similar. Yep, the Tahoe is as cool as the Escalade.

Does he really expect to prove that the iPhone IS NOT leading edge design by these pictures. There’s never been anything quite like it. TI should just say he doesn’t like how it types and be done with it. One thing the iPhone can’t be accused of is being uncool or normal.

Here’s how cool it is. 2 weeks ago, I was in a swank Beverly Hills club. I was playing with an iPhone that a colleague owns. Guess who in my group drew a crowd of adoring Beverly Hills babes in the swank Beverly Hills club? They immediately new it was an iPhone. Do you think the 6800 would get the same reaction?

C’mon PTIers. Vote on this for me. In TI’s original post, he uses Morris Day and The Time to describe cool. Which goes better with Morris’ penthouse in Manhattan (two more in Malibu),
an ’87 Cadillac Seville, and a Mazarati too? A 6800 or an iPhone? In fact do you even have to look at the pictures to make your choice?

6. Tell it like it TI is! - July 27, 2007

Once again, Fast Follower misses the point. He is correct… there is nothing else quite like it…. He is correct, it is not normal. But “leading edge design”. I doubt it. In fact, I think it is a poor design if it can’t deliver basic functionality! You can’t type on the thing. What would you call an Escalade that can’t be driven because the steering wheel was out of position… a poor design. What would you call a cool looking chair that you find out that you can’t sit in? A poor design. What would you call a house that you discovered you couldn’t fit through the door openings? A poor design!

Not sure what this Apple phenomenon is that makes folks defend them to the end. I have an inkling that it has something to do with the price. Apple folks are always trying to justify what the Company does and how it performs. It almost seems as though they feel they have to keep reminding themselves why they bought and paid more than average prices!

Fast Follower, we understand.

Hey, I am just telling it like it is!

7. Fast Follower - July 28, 2007

Anybody who doesn’t think the iPhone has innovative design, please stand up. I want to count you among the “making an illogical point” crowd like TI.

8. Tell it like it TI is! - July 28, 2007

Take a look at this Brighthand link. Of the 32000 hits, guess what Smartphone is getting the most action. One clue…it ain’t iPhone!!! Just in case you don’t see it it is over to the left!! Double the number of views, and don’t forget to take a look at the review ratings!

Hey, not only am I doing it, the public is Telling it Like it Is!

9. DP - November 20, 2007

It is worth switching from the 6700 to the 6800 for me and everyone else I know that made the switch just because the signal strength is that much better! Now upgrading the 6700 to WM6 did make it better, but the 6800 is smaller, no external antennae and did i mention the signal is better!

10. Fast Follower - November 20, 2007

I spoke with a guy in the local coffee shop this weekend who has the 6800. He too thought it was significantly better than the 6700.

11. Tell it like it TI is! - November 21, 2007

I gotta admit, I have been thinking more and more about the 6800. I gotta say, however, the 6700 has been a good run as far as cellphones go. I gotta say, that I still believe that the 6700 is still one of the smartest smart phones! But I do notice the battery life diminishing, and, at times the “brick” feels a little heavier than before.

We’ll see. Like the song says …. Make That Change!!!!!

12. Tim - February 20, 2008

I guess one way to look at it is to compare the marketshare that the iPhone has with all of the Windows Mobile devices combined.

Oh… wait… that probably doesn’t make the point TILITI was wanting to make… – Tim

P.S. For someone to say “significantly better than the 6700” is roughly equivalent to telling me “slightly less disgusting than kissing your sister.” As long as the 6800 does the current crop of stupid things that my 6700 continues to do, I’ll stick with kissing my sister. I can’t possibly move away from Windows Mobile fast enough.

13. Hunter Silman - May 19, 2011

I’ve been surfing on-line way more than three hours today, nonetheless I don’t ever discovered any appealing posting like your site. It’s pretty price ample for me. In my view, if most of site homeowners and people produced nice content material materials as you do, the net shall be a lot much more helpful than ever before.


Leave a Reply

