jump to navigation

XML Document Must have top level element ??? July 22, 2007

Posted by Tell it like it TI is! in Uncategorized, xml document, xml document must have top level element, xml error, xml script error.
trackback

PTIers,

I know that this post is unusually technical for this forum, but I had no where else to turn.  Just recently, after leaving my computer on overnight,  I return the next day with several dialog boxes that say, “Error: XML document must have a top level element”.   It seems to have no adverse impact on the operation of my computer, but it is starting to annoy me.   The other day, I looked at my son’s desktop, and he is getting the same thing!   I have scanned both machines for a virus or spyware attack, but both machines appear to be clean.

Is there a PTIer that can tell me what is going on and how to get rid of this annoyance before it starts to cause trouble?

I know that this is not characteristic of the type of stuff we like to talk about, but I have full confidence in the PTI community.

 HELP!!!!!

Comments»

1. Fast Follower - August 11, 2007

Ever wonder why you never got an answer to this post? Because you’re using Windows and nobody knows what to do. You’re getting the error. Your son is getting the error. You’re scanning for viruses and spyware. What the heck is that all about. You say I’ve been sucked into the Mac OS by Apple’s advertising. You’ve been lulled into excepting these “Errors” because it’s all you know.

You’re like the spouse that’s been abused for years and believes that’s how you’re supposed to be treated.

2. Tell it like it TI is! - August 12, 2007

Alright Fast Follower… I am going to have so much FUN with this one!!!

Guess what? I found the root of the problems. It was the result of upgrading iTunes to 7.3.1! Yes, it is true. Your flawless folks from Apple. Apparently, they had to rush the upgrade to conincide with the iPhone launch, and it didn’t work properly. No problems since I downgraded the version of iTunes, although I can’t seem to get videos on the iPod anymore!!

Notice any common iTheme here??? Let’s see, iPhone, iTunes, and iPod are the root of my problems.

Yep!! You’ve been sucked in by the hype. I am surprised at you!!! They even have you thinking that “errors” exclusively belong to Microsoft!!! You are getting sucked in deeper and deeper.

Heck, is it Microsoft’s problems when you have “ERRORS” on the golf course!!! Can’t wait to hear your answer to that one!!!

Using your analogy above…. You’re like the spouse that was lulled in by fancy cars and fine restaurants only to find out that it was all a facade!!!

Nice try, but I just tell it like it is!!!

3. Shane - October 12, 2007

Tell it like it is, do you have a procedure you used to determine that iTunes was the cause of this? I have a Vista box that has done this since day 2 of owning it, and my other laptop has started this and it is XP. I will check the itunes on the XP laptop because I know it is on there, however, this Vista laptop has no such beast.

Please Advise,

4. Tell it like it TI is! - October 13, 2007

Shane, my last comment was quite some time ago. I only pointed to iTunes (at the time) because it seemed to begin right after upgrading. Also, Fast Follower’s overly confident comment might have resulted in me rushing to a conclusion. However, since then I have an XP laptop, and two desktops that are doing the same thing. Two of the machines have iTunes the other does not. On the ones that are displaying these symptoms, I can count on about 10 cascading dialog boxes with the same message each morning.

Are you any closer to the solution?? If so, please share and TELL IT LIKE IT IS!!!

Thanks.

5. Fast Follower - October 14, 2007

So I guess my original comment still applies. Yep, the comment in the #1 position…the one about putting up with all of the Windows errors….XP, Vista, it’s all the same. When will you ever learn.

I’m sure I’ll have problems with my Mac some day. But until then, I’m laughing! And I’m running the Mac OS on my Macbook Pro with Aperture and Firefox open, while I run Windows with Quicken 2008 and Explorer open.

6. Tell it like it TI is! - October 15, 2007

You’re right, Fast Follower I have a very minor issue at the time. But I am the one laughing cause I still have $2000 in my pocket. Tell me how you can laugh when you pay an extra $2000 for a machine, and then spend all of your software resources and time to make the thing work like your PC??

I guess you would have me go out purchase a Cadillac, and then change the grill, wheels, and interior accents so that I can make it into a Ford Taurus!!! Does that make sense to you? So before you go and start busting a gut, think about what you did and let me know if you still see the humor in all of this!!!

Hey, I am just telling it like it is!!!

7. TI Fixed His Windows XML Error….I Hope ! ! « Pardon the Interaction - November 16, 2007

[…] The post is here. […]

8. Dan H. - May 26, 2010

The issue is you need a top level element, such as
or

in an xml document.
You must have a vpn connection for work or something, where you are connecting to a database or something that pulls and stores data to be inserted back into that said database.

Do you use this computer for work?

9. Dan H. - May 26, 2010

model or schema is a top level element for i.e.

10. Anxious - July 31, 2012

XML Document Must have top level element. 7/31/2011) This message just popped up after using I tunes on 7/29/11. I also recalled allowing update to continue. What do I do about this message?.

Anxious

11. Anxious - July 31, 2012

Anxious: Correction the above message date of error was 7/31/12.

12. Seymour - January 3, 2015

You post interesting content here. Your website
deserves much more visitors. It can go viral if you give it initial
boost, i know useful service that can help you, just search in google: svetsern traffic
tips


Leave a Reply

