jump to navigation

Fusion and Virtual Windows on a Mac August 7, 2007

Posted by Fast Follower in Apple, Fusion, Mac, Windows.
trackback

I’m sitting here on my Macbook Pro writing this post using Apple’s Safari browser while Windows is booted at the same time in another window running Quicken. I’m using a new piece of software called Fusion. It’s similar to Parallels, but according to Walt Mossberg, it doesn’t put as much strain on your Mac. Life is great. I’m getting all of the simple benefits of using a Mac for 95% of my computing life, while I can still use Windows for a handful applications that work better for me in the Windows environment.

Shhh! Don’t tell TI. He’ll think I’ve been swayed by the Apple advertising.

Comments»

1. Tell it like it TI is! - August 8, 2007

No, not at all, Fast Follower. From your post, I can see that you are writing a post, surfing the internet, doing Quicken stuff, something about Fusion and Parallels, and straining your machine!!!??? …. has the marketing machine really convinced Fast Follower that computers have hamstrings???

What you haven’t mentioned is what incremental stuff you are doing that cost you over $1000 dollars more than a PC. What you are failing to do is explain this Mac experience and its true value.

You see PTIers, Fast Follower has done OK for himself over the years, and is now suffering from an acute case of Me-ism. He fails to realize that most of us don’t have an extra grand in our pockets to avoid downloading a driver or fixing the resoltuion in our setup. What he has forgotten is that most of us working stiffs have to purchase more than one computer for our families and households. What he doesn’t understand is that the majority of folks have a rather limited job description for their computer: Web browsing, e-mail, MP3s, digital photos, and the occasional letter.

What he doesn’t tell you is that there is currently about 10x more software available for PC’s than Macs (especially if you are gaming). If you don’t live near a fancy Apple Store, where do you even purchase Apple Software??? What he forgot to tell you is that in case of any repair or upgrades Mac hardware is almost 40% more expensive, if you can find the parts!

See Fast Follower is like the guy who has finally joined an elite Country Club, and now trys to convince you that he forgot what it is like playing on Public Courses after joining less than a month ago! He’ll tell you how everything about the Country Club is nicer and better (design, architecture, etc), except for the actual things that have to do with Golf!!!! And he always, conveniently doesn’t mention the cost to join and the monthly fee he is hit with!

Hey, don’t get mad at me! I am just telling it like it is!!

Just like Stevie Wonder said in his old classic….

It’s not too cool to be ridiculed
But you brought this upon yourself
The world is tired of “Apple-fiers”
We want the truth and nothing else

And we are sick and tired
of hearing your song
Telling how Macs are gonna
change right from wrong
‘Cause if you really want to hear my view
“You haven’t said nothing”!

2. Tell it like it TI is! - August 9, 2007

Oh, yeah…. Jackson 5 sing along with me and say doo doo wop!

3. Fast Follower - August 24, 2007

Here’s the tech reporter, Walt Mossberg, again heaping praise on a Mac. I guess he continues to be swayed by Apple advertising like TI suggests. On his site, he reports:

“A few days ago I bought a top-of-the-line model of Apple’s new iMac line, and installed Boot Camp and Vista. I then tested the machine using Vista’s built-in Windows Experience Index, a rating system that goes from 1 to 5.9, with scores above 3.0 generally required for full, quick performance. My iMac scored a 5.0, the best score of any consumer Vista machine I have tested.”

PTIers. Just like TI has done with just about every consumer electronics item we’ve debated about on this blog, he will own a Mac some day by following my lead. I brought him to the Treo family of devices beginning with the Treo 300. And I brought him back to the WM5 family of devices beginning with Sprint’s 6700. Trust me. During all of those debates he never used price as a reason for not switching. In fact, I remember when he payed $600 for a crappy Toshiba Windows Mobile-based PDA years ago. And he loudly debated with me that his crappy Toshiba was better than my Treo 300. So don’t let him get away with the “Macs are more expensive argument.” Heck, his Nike Sasquatch driver is more expensive than the no-name knock-off it replaced too. I don’t hear him complaining about the price of the Sasquatch (and believe me…he hits the Sasquatch no better than the old knock-off)

4. Tell it like it TI is! - August 25, 2007

Hey, has anyone noticed that no one else comments on Fast Follower’s Mac revelations. The world is not listening. This is a PC World for now. You may as well just be spitting in the wind!

I will keep telling it like it is from a realistic point of view! Hey did you ever get your Dad 800 dollar machine that doesn’t even come with a keyboard???

5. Brad Goodson - November 25, 2007

Fast Follower,

Not to be mundane, but what version of Quicken are you running? I’m currently running Quicken 2006. I’m about to pull the trigger on an iMac purchase, and being able to run the Windows version of Quicken is the only concern I have. (I’ve been using Quicken for over 10 years, and it looks like converting to Quicken for Mac is not an option if I want to retain all of my historical data.)

Thanks for any help you can give me.

6. Fast Follower - November 25, 2007

I’m running Quicken 2008 with Windows XP on the Mac. It works fine….although in a recent post, I discuss trying to move away from Quicken

7. Run Mac OSX on Windows - July 24, 2013

We hope it was really very easy and convert MPG or MPEG on Mac is fun.
Adobe® Premiere® Pro CS5: GPU-accelerated Adobe Mercury Playback Engine, a highly efficient script-to-screen
workflow, and native support for the latest tapeless camera formats which permits editing without
delay. You could potentially do this with proxies, but you’d have to find a fresh, reliable, and available proxy server from scratch each time.


Leave a Reply

