jump to navigation

iPod Touch…falls just short??? September 6, 2007

Posted by Tell it like it TI is! in Apple, iTouch.
trackback

PTIers,

Recalling my old high school football days. The one thing I remember from the endless hours of practice was the coach continuously telling us to “finish the play” or to “run through the whistle”, and most of all “leave everything on the field”!!!!

Is it me or does Apple seem to always carry the ball almost the full length of the field only to just fall short of the mark? As I mentioned in the iPhone post I loved the design of the iPhone music functions. Though, I was not sold on the functionality of the iPhone, I did state that I would purchase an iPod version of the device. After weeks of waiting, the iPod Touch is finally released and it ONLY HAS 16 GIG OF STORAGE!!!! That’s it.. maxed out…… What in the heck are they thinking. They must really like screwing with me. Now we know that there must have been some type of strategic reason for this, but to my bewilderment, I can’t think of what it is!!! And to really make matters worse, Apple announces the next generation iPod with 160 gig of storage…. So let me get this straight you fall short on storage on the cool iPod Touch, and then you go overboard with 160 gig (ridiculous) on the older design!!

Reminds me of the old Prince tune…. Why You Wanna Treat Me So Bad????

Well, I am sure Fast Follower will have plenty to say about this and the interesting Apple marketing approach. So Fast Follower, have at it!!!

Apple has a few more opportunities to disappoint me!! Just Tellin it Like it Is!!!!

Comments»

1. Fast Follower - September 6, 2007

Well TI, I do have an answer for you. And here it is: “I can’t figure it out either.” The iTouch falls short for me as well. 16 gig of hard drive space ain’t enough. I can only assume that 16 gigs maxed out is not so much a strategic decision as it is a technical problem. I’m guessing after they package wifi and all that makes the “touch” part of iTouch work, they can’t figure out how to package a larger capacity hard drive. At least I hope that’s the answer.

2. Tell it like it TI is! - September 9, 2007

I was lisening to Digital Spin on XM yesterday, and I asked Mario Armstrong about this. He didn’t really understand it either. The iTouch announcement came right on the heels of the price reduction for the iPhone!! Mario’s guest co-host, however, had a very unique theory. He believed that it has something to do with the next Apple product release. Can you guess what it is???…. the all new and improved…. iGOTCHA!!!! I thought this was pretty funny, but it also seemed to have some threads of truth, as well.

For those of you PTIers not familiar with Digital Spin with Mario Armstrong, you should check it out some time. I really like the format. He has the right balance of technical content, humor, and he talks about real world tech products and issues. I think you can listen online or via XM. (http://marioa.squarespace.com/xm-ch-169-mario-armstrong-show/).

It sort of reminds me of the old Fat Albert cartoon when Bill Cosby used to open the episode by saying, “We’ll have some laughs along the way, and you might just learn something if you’re not careful.”

iGotcha… hilarious. Fast Follwer, I notice you are real cautious in your defense of Apple on this one. Whatcha got to say????

Just Telling it Like it Is!!!

3. Fast Follower - September 10, 2007

I’m not cautious. I’m just being honest. Putting only 16 gig of drive space in the iTouch seems a little odd. I’m giving Apple a little BOD – Benefit of Doubt. You have to admit, just about every product Apple releases has no real equal. As you say Apple might be falling just short of the goal line. But while they’re kicking 20 yard field goals, everybody else is fumbling back on the other end of the field.


Leave a Reply

