jump to navigation

PS3 for Blue-ray DVD February 26, 2008

Posted by Fast Follower in Blue-ray, Playstation 3, PS3.
trackback

I’m finishing off a part of my home that will contain a video-audio entertainment area (a projector for video and large screen viewing, an HD Directv DVR, a receiver for handling all of the video and audio processing, etc).  My initial choice for a DVD player was to purchase a Blue-ray DVD (now that HD DVD is dead or dying).  Today, I decided to forgo a normal Blue-ray player and get Playstation 3 instead.  It plays Blue-ray DVDs (and regular DVDs) along with being a great gaming machine.  Am I missing something here?  Doesn’t this seem like a good choice?  I’m sure PTIers will let me know.

Comments»

1. Fast Follower - March 5, 2008

Work colleagues advise me to make sure I get the 80 gig PS3 because it’s backwards compatible with PS2. Evidently the 40 gig isn’t.

2. Tell it like it TI is! - March 5, 2008

My only concern would be the interface and controls. To be honest, I haven’t done too much PS3 research. But I will say that watching DVDs on the PS2 was somewhat of a headache. I don’t think that we had a separate remote. I think we were actually using a game controller to do the basic functions (FF, rewind, skip, menu, etc.). It was too much of a hassle. I never figured out how to program the PS2 with a universal remote. I just gave up.

My advise would be to go ahead and get a dvd player that looks and functions smoothly with your new system. Heck you’ve come this far, go the extra mile!

Yeah, the PS3 will functiona and play dvds, but you are stepping up your game, and functionality is key! Go ahead and get a RF remote so you can switch from where ever (to heck with the point and click!) and get a dvd player that you can load with multiple dvds and is built to function as a dvd player. You are in the big leagues now.. go ahead and get a pair of Jordans!!!!

Just telling it like it is!!!

3. Learn Piano Fast Online Free - August 16, 2014

Thank you, I have just been searching for info
about this topic for a while and yours is the greatest I have came upon so far.
But, what concerning the bottom line? Are you sure
concerning the source?


Leave a Reply

