jump to navigation

iTouch March 2, 2008

Posted by Fast Follower in iPhone, iPod, iTouch.
trackback

There’s a review of the new 32 gig iTouch over on MacWorld.  The reviewer claims it’s much better than the previous lower memory iTouch devices for a number of reasons.  He also claims that the 32 gig iTouch now gets closer to iPhone functionality.  Some of the people commenting take him to task for comparing the iTouch to the iPhone.  They believe comparing the iTouch to other mp3 players is a better indication of its usefulness and superiority.  I agree with the people commenting by the way.  How would I know?  I purchased the 32 gig iTouch last week.  When I told TI about my purchase, my description to him was that I’ve purchased the best iPod ever made.  This thing is a music playing, video watching, youtube enjoying, internet connecting, iTunes communicating piece of wonderful hardware.  It’s also beautiful, intuitive, and very cool.  Did I also mention it’s a little expensive as well?  Again, this is the best iPod ever made.

Comments»

1. Tell it like it TI is! - March 3, 2008

One of the things that FF and I often disagree about is the concept of VALUE. I mean, its easy to say the best ever when you have unlimited budget. I will admit, after hearing FF’s description, I was almost ready to go out and get one. PTIers, I have never been one to just go and buy a device to say that I have it. I am always focused on functionality. FF has been suckered into many devices before, and I typically wait to see if his devices are worth it. I will hold judgement on this one before I blast him, but keep in mind that FF has a lot of spare change. Dont immediately jump into the FF camp! I have been burned on several occasions!

Just telling it like it is.

2. Fast Follower - March 5, 2008

I haven’t been suckered into any purchases I’ve made. Never have PTIers found that I’ve regretted purchasing anything. I do my homework. And when I decide that the benefits are reasonable for the price, I make my decision. Unlike TI, I’m not stuck on what’s old and comfortable. Regarding the 32 gig iTouch, I admitted in the post that at $499, it’s expensive (maybe too expensive for most people). But there’s no questioning the fact that it’s THE best mp3 player, video player, photo viewer, get on the web with wifi device, easy to get content on the device, and just damn cool device on the planet. If there’s a better one, please tell me what it is. Just because items are expensive (like my Macbook Pro) doesn’t mean they aren’t great, and best in their class.

For example, I recently test drove a 2008 Cadillac CTS. Was it expensive? Yes! Was it gorgeous both inside and out? Yes. Was the ride and handling superb? Yes! Were the features superior to every other car in it’s class that I researched? Yes! Is it worth it? For me, yes! (I didn’t buy it by the way for other reasons). TI will tell you that you would be better off keeping your old 1999 Honda Accord. But what fun would that be?

Like Bumpy Johnson said about Dutch Schultz in the movie, Hoodlum, “If you don’t know, you don’t know.” Trust me, TI doesn’t know.

3. Tell it like it TI is! - March 5, 2008

Save the comments PTIers, cause Fast Follower swallows his words everytime. Sure its cool to have the lates gadgets, but he who jumps first, pays the most.

While we are quoting our favorite movies…Here is mine from Scarface……

What you lookin’ at? You all a bunch of f—-g a–oles. You know why? You don’t have the guts to be what you wanna be? You need people like me. You need people like me so you can point your fingers and say, “That’s the bad guy.” So… what that make you? Good? You’re not good. You just know how to hide, how to lie. Me, I don’t have that problem. Me, I always tell the truth. Even when I lie. So say good night to the bad guy! Come on. The last time you gonna see a bad guy like this again, let me tell you. Come on. Make way for the bad guy. There’s a bad guy comin’ through! Better get outta his way!

Just telling it like it is!

4. Fast Follower - March 6, 2008

Jumping first would have been buying the 8 gig or 16 gig iTouch. I waited for the 32 gig model which not only has more memory to become a better replacement for an ipod, but also has more improvements over the old models. So I agree with you. He who acts first, sometimes gets burned. As you can see, I did not act first. It’s also true that he who never acts, never knows. It’s becoming increasingly clear, that you’ve moved into the “never knows” camp because you never act.

5. Fast Follower - March 7, 2008

By the way, the more I use it, the more I want to use it. My 30 gig ipod was just an mp3 player. That’s all I used it for. My iTouch has become so much more. Wifi helps. A great web browser helps. YouTube helps. Great video capability helps. And did you hear the latest rumor? mobile Slingbox might be coming to iPhone/iTouch.


Leave a Reply

