jump to navigation

HTC Touch Pro… So far so good. Could there finally be competition for the iPhone??? November 14, 2008

Posted by Tell it like it TI is! in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

If you are familiar with PTI, you know that Fast Follower and I started this with an intense smartphone debate.  Both of us have been chasing the perfect smartphone since we both purchased our Treo 300s!  If you read my recent post (https://pardontheinteraction.wordpress.com/2008/09/10/ptiers-time-for-a-new-smartphone-mogul-or-800w-i-need-your-help/, I was struggling with a decision between the new Treo 800w and the HTC Mogul.  iPhone was never an option.  Just wasn’t convinced that the touchscreen keyboard would fulfill my high business use demand.  I tried and tried, but my fingers must be too big.

During my investigation, I stumbled across information about the new HTC Touch PRO.  PRO is the objective word here. The HTC Touch PRO not only features a great touch screen experience for casual/recreational use, it also packs a slide out keyboard (just like my old HTC 6700) for times when I have to grind out accurate quick text.   This thing packs everything… wifi, touch screen, keyboard, gps, camera, and a lot of other cool features.  Also, Windows Mobile 6.1 seems to be a LOT more stable than previous versions. After two weeks of use, I don’t recall any lockups or mysterious reboots which were so prevalent in prevous versions.

A simple search will result in several debates that tout the Touch Pro as a legit iPhone competitor.  I happen to agree. I would like to hear what you fellow PTIers think.  Chime in and let the debate begin!!!

Comments»

1. Rex Butler - November 30, 2008

I tested an Iphone 3g for 30 days and now have an HTC Touch Pro, Verizon. My personal opinion is that I would rather have the Iphone. The Touch Pro interface is very inconsistant. The touch, tap, scrolling, zooming are all very herky jerky. The internet functionality is very poor compared to the Iphone. Both phones work well with Exchange. I don’t need to be able to edit MS Office Docs…just be able to read attachments if necessary. I do like the slide out keyboard, but I don’t have to do that much typing. The Iphone keyboard is a bit tricky to use but adequet for my needs. Also the VZ navigator is not near as usable as the Iphone GPS…VZ navigator does have voice instructions which is nice. I found the ability to get in an out of the Wi-Fi function much easier with the Iphone.

My main use for a smartphone are phone, email, contacts, calendar, internet access, GPS…Wi-Fi capability is important and having music and photo apps is a plus. I think the Iphone is the best mix for me.

2. Tell it like it TI is! - December 1, 2008

Thanks for the comments, Rex. I haven’t experienced the inconsistent interface yet. Seems pretty good to me. Though, another close friend of mine says that iPhone with the upgraded software (2.1, I believe). He says it is much better than what I remember when the iPhone was initially released. But I gotta admit, I love the different input methods…block recognition, keyboard, etc. Seems that I go to different methods depending on the mood I am in.

The Sprint Navigator works pretty good to me, though I am not sure why I have to log in every time I use it (really annoying!). I also have CoPilot installed, I like this a lot better, as the input graphics are easier to use while driving (oops…not supposed to program nav while driving). Did I say driving? I meant while drinking my coffee!

I am still a Touch Pro fan, but remember Sprint has me on the “locked in for life” family plan, so that might have something to do with it.

Just tellin it like it is….

3. Fast Follower - March 26, 2009

Clearly by now the answer to your initial question is “no!” The HTC is not a significant competitor to the iPhone.

4. Tell it like it TI is! - March 26, 2009

The only thing that is clear is that you are still blinded by the Apple FOG… Bottomline, is that for serious “getting down to business”functions the iPhone doesn’t stack up. If I were a teenager with no real responsibilities or deadlines, I would agree with you…. not to mention getting features such as the 2.0-megapixel camera (versus the iPhone’s 1.3 megapixel), high-speed 3G EV-DO capability for fast downloading and Web surfing (versus the iPhone’s slower EDGE network), stereo Bluetooth capability (for wireless headphones and speakers), and expandable/removeable memory (MicroSD cards). I am not making this up … I am just telling it like it is!!!!!

And let’s not forget that it’s only $249.99 (with a two-year contract).

We’re anxious to try out the spiffy new Sprint-enabled HTC Touch to see if it lives up to the hype. We’ll report back later.

5. OliviaB. - April 8, 2009

I just recently got the HTC Touch Pro. It’s been less than a week since I’ve had it and already it has a tendency to overheat. I’ve had to reboot my phone several times due to the phone freezing or the malfunction of the keys of the qwerty keypad that slides out. Overall, it’s a good phone. Here’s hoping the HTC Touch Pro2 has solved this issue.
———–
OliviaB.

6. zer0cool - June 9, 2009

Hi,
I maintain two HTC Touch Pro phones. I love the functionality of the phone. I have owned every pocket pc in this series of phones. (6600, 6700, Mogul, and now the Touch Pro.) My only gripe with this unit is its enability to recharge the battery while in use. I do not maintain a land line so there are times when I am terribly inconvenienced by this short comming. The funny thing is, out of all the phones mentioned above that I’ve owned, the Touch Pro is the only one whose battery has died on me during phone use while plugged in charging. If there is anyone out there that owns a Touch Pro and is not experiencing this problem, please give me some insight on what I could be doing differently.

7. dyuane - November 26, 2010

HTC are ok. the iphone 4 is pretty good. need to get the Samsung EPIC. that rules.

8. dorethabridges9859 - April 8, 2016

I really like that soapstone figurine in the newsletter, how much are they? I may have to get you to pick me one up if they aren’t too much. Click https://twitter.com/moooker1


Leave a Reply

