jump to navigation

PTIers, Time for a new Smartphone …. Mogul or 800w? I need your help!!! September 10, 2008

Posted by Tell it like it TI is! in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

OK, PTIers, before you go asking why I am down to these two options, and not looking outside of Sprint, I have too many phones on my family plan and the cancellation and reactivation fees would almost render me homeless!!!  We have several posts about this unethical situation.

The fact of the matter is that my PPC 6800 has and is still delivering on every aspect of functionality that I expected no complaints.  However, its time.   Its time for a new smartphone.   I like physical keyboards, so any “touch” version is out. I need bluetooth, I want GPS enabled this time, I want a touch screen, and its got to be wifi.  

With these requirements, I am left with two choices from Sprint.  The HTC Mogul which is the successor to my PPC 6700, and the Treo 800w. 

Come on PTIers share some of the unwritten pros and cons with me.   You long term PTIers remember my issues with the 700w that pointed me to the PPC 6800, in the first place.  Should I go with the next version of what I have? or should I try the new 800w and jump on the Treo bandwagon again?  Tell it like it is and tell me what you think.

Comments»

1. Curtis R. - October 4, 2008

WOW! WHAT A COINCIDENCE! I am currently a Nextel cell holder, looking to upgrade as well to either a Sprint Mogul or 800w, too! I asked a couple of my friends their advice and the vast majority are telling me to go with the Mogul, but ultimately I am still unsure. I will have this phone for at least another two years so I want to make sure it is right! I like them both! And there is not a significant price difference either. Like you, I also don’t want a 100% touch phone. Decisions, decisions. Either decision… WE WIN!

2. Tell it like it TI is! - October 5, 2008

I was in the Sprint store yesterday comparing. As far as my criteria goes, they are pretty even. I think it is going to come down to two things; keyboard and screen.

I like not having to slide a keyboard out to use it. I remember on my earlier Treos that this really was convenient for one hand usage. However the fact that you have the keyboard on the 800, you don’t get the screen size that the Mogul has. The larger screen is great for watching TV and videos and browsing the internet.

Decisions, decisions….

3. Tell it like it TI is! - October 12, 2008

Well, PTIers… looks like I found my next smartphone. And its not a Treo or the Mogul! After doing a lot of research and searching, I think I will wait for the the new HTC Touch Pro! This thing packs it all in..GPS, WiFi, slide out keyboard, larger VGA screen, and it will give me the chance to try the touchFlow software without being 100% dependent upon it.

Unless there is a PTIer that knows something that I don’t, this will be my choice!!!

Just telling it like it is!!!

4. Tell it like it TI is! - October 23, 2008

Trying to wait for the HTC Touch Pro, everything that I have read tells me that this is the ONE for me! This may very well be the iPhone competition that I was hoping for.

I don’t have much time, however. My old PPC 6700 is old and literally breaking down before my eyes. Yesterday the rubber joystick fell off, and the screen has some severe scratches.

When is the Touch Pro available? Come on Sprint, quick stalling.

Just telling it like it is…

5. HTC Touch Pro… So far so good. Could there finally be competition for the iPhone??? « Pardon the Interaction - November 14, 2008

[…] the perfect smartphone since we both purchased our Treo 300s!  If you read my recent post (https://pardontheinteraction.wordpress.com/2008/09/10/ptiers-time-for-a-new-smartphone-mogul-or-800w-…, I was struggling with a decision between the new Treo 800w and the HTC Mogul.  iPhone was never […]


Leave a comment